Diversity features resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures—which draw heavily on late 20th- and early 21st-century archival text and footage—create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies. From Alexander Street Press.
Social Sciences as a discipline covers a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity’s efforts to understand itself and the world. Through raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions, and much more, users can examine and connect personal, social, and spiritual aspects of the human condition. These materials facilitate exploration into humanity’s interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, religion, psychology, public safety, anthropology, education, and studies of the environment and current events. From Alexander Street Press.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. From Alexander Street Press.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
A collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by subject and producer
The Films on Demand Partnership Collection is a collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by both subject and producer.
Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region.
A collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, early 20th century-1980s
Socialism on Film is a collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and examines the themes of War & Revolution, News & Current Affairs plus Culture & Society.
