This page is designed to help you:
There are many types of databases that you can use for your research. The database you choose will depend on what type of information you want to find.
Research databases, such as JSTOR and Academic Search Premier, uncover the world of scholarly information. Most of the content in these databases is only available through the library. The complete list of databases is on the Databases A-Z list. The Library has purchased access to hundreds of databases on your behalf. There is no charge to use these resources.
Indexes the web which provides way to find information on any topic
|Scope of information:||Search engines, such as Google, make finding general information on pretty much any topic fairly easy. You may get millions of results for a search, with only the first 10 readily visible|
|Narrow your search:||
Ability to focus a search on a type of consumer-oriented content, such as news, shopping, and images
|Information strengths:||Information from organizations, including reports, white papers, and company information|
|Evaluating content:||Since anyone can share information online, you have to carefully check any information that you may want to use in your academic work.|
|Defining scope:||Highly organized information that allows you to find information with high relevance to search terms|
|Scope of information:||Collections of information that are organized by subject, theme, genre, language, and other factors|
|Narrow your search:||Robust tools allow you to narrow efficiently by dozens of categories|
|Information strengths:||Primary and secondary sources in an array of formats including journal articles, ebooks, historical documents, videos, music, images, data, and newspapers.|
|Evaluating content:||Verified, often peer-reviewed, high-quality content from carefully selected sources|
Let us search for the same thing in Google and in a general academic database called Academic Search Premier.
Search for the impact of social media on teenagers
Notes about these results in Google:
Notes about these results in the Academic Search Premier database:
This page was designed to help you:
Brown University Library | Providence, RI 02912 | (401) 863-2165 | Contact | Comments | Library Feedback | Site Map