LibGuides: History of France: Finding Articles

Databases: History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles, review articles, scholarly notes, and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies, current.
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research for the study of women's history, spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
This collection is considered to be the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Gerritsen Online consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.

Databases: Interdisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences, 1972-2015.
1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover journals, books, and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world, 1975-present.
1975-present; Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from the American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

Build a strong search term

A good search term is the key to effectively and rapidly finding information in databases. Here are some tips:

Be specific. Consider including synonyms, the same search terms in French or English, or a specific terminology. For example, the term ‘banlieue’ or 'beur' is more precise than 'immigration'.

Link your terms in specific ways. Using AND, OR, NOT can structure the search engines' assumptions about the order in which the terms should appear in a webpage. For example: ‘(beur AND banlieue) OR (North Africans AND suburb)’

Consider using the Search Guide or Help available in databases.