LibGuides: History of France: Journals @ Brown

'Le Magazine Littéraire' is one of many French Studies periodicals available at Brown

List of Journals @ Brown

Click here to view a list of French history journals at Brown, both in print and online.

Link to list of French History journals online and the list of French language and literature online.

"Liberation" Journals Index

The Liberation Journals Index is an analytic, searchable, online index covering the interwar Pan-African periodicals La Revue du Monde Noir, Légitime Défense, L’Étudiant Noir, the wartime Tropiques, and the postwar Présence Africaine, as well as the Québécois journal Liberté. This index was originally conceived both as a public research tool and as a practical component of Meadow Dibble-Dieng’s dissertation, a comparative study that considers the various ways in which literary periodicals have served in liberation movements throughout the Francophone world.

Other Sources for Journals

CAIRN.INFO This link opens in a new window
Revues de sciences humaines et sociales de quatre maisons d'édition (Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte et Erès) en version électronique accompagnées d'outils techniques.
2005-present; created by four French-language academic publishers (Belin, De Boeck, La Decouverte and Eres) and in collaboration with the National Library of France and the French National Book Center, CAIRN offers the most comprehensive collection of recent issues of French and Belgian academic journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. Selected full text available. :Revues de sciences humaines et sociales de quatre maisons d'dition (Belin, De Boeck, La Dcouverte et Ers) en version lectronique accompagnes d'outils techniques. [This resource is publicly available.]

The following tools can help you identify journal titles:

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on more than 6,000 journals and book series
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submission for publication.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed and comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world, current. It covers all subjects, and can be useful in identifying where a specific journal may be indexed.
Current; Ulrich's is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and can be useful in identifying where a specific journal may be indexed.

WESSWEB Index and Guide to French Western European Periodicals
Index organized by resource type and time period.