Italian Studies

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.

1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation. The FIAF Databases include:
* International Index to Film Periodicals
* International Index to Television Periodicals
* List of Periodicals Indexed
* Treasures from the Film Archives
* Bibliography of FIAF Affiliates Publications
* International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections

1976-2001; the Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. [This resource is publicly available.]

1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.

1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text includes other fields, such as women's, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.

1929-1984; cummulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.

1975-2007; the Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire international de la littrature de l'art (RILA) on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]

1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.

Backlist and out-of-print titles in art and architectural history content. This is a Mellon Grant funded project directed by Yale University Press with the goal of making this type of content more broadly available and easily discoverable.

Art History Research net (AHRnet) (formerly Arts: Search) is an invaluable resource for research into the history of modern arts, architecture and design. It consists of five linked databases:

ReVIEW is a digitized, searchable versions of nineteenth and early twentieth-century art journals
Arts + Architecture ProFILES (AAP) is a biographical dictionary of modern artists, designers, architects, craftspeople and photographers
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service
Research Sources which will focus in depth on a series of art and design history topics, the first of which is THE POSTER. It includes a 367-page Bibliographical and Internet Survey of the History of the Poster; an International Directory of Poster Collections; and digitisations of most of the significant books, exhibition catalogues and journals on the Poster published between the 1890s and the 1920s with biographical data on on the artists whose work is discussed or illustrated.
Research Sources: 1. British and Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s.

DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of back issues of 100+ German scholarly journals. The archive offers browsing capabilities, phrase and keyword searching of titles of articles, chapters, and tables of contents for journals in the fields of art history, economy, education, geology, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, natural sciences, religion and sociology. Years of coverage vary from journal to journal and are listed in the "Open Access" section of the site.

1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.