Provides access to historically significant periodicals from the Americas published between 1740 and 1940
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text and images from newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to-present.
Provides access to more than 200 years of the Times, 1795-2019.
1795-2010; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
A biweekly newspaper published between in August 5, 1938 and June 20, 1943. Its goal was to foster racism through biological and scientific arguments. Available to the Brown community through the Brown Digital Repository. Click here to access the collection. Authentication is necessary.
The pictorial newspaper made its appearance in Europe in the early 19th century and by mid-century was well established. Leading papers including the Illustrated London News, l'Illustration, and the Illustrierte Leipzig, and in the United States, Leslie's and Harper's Weekly, were popular subscriptions with the middle and upper classes. Garibaldi's flamboyant character and his attempts towards the unification of Italy were frequently profiled in this media.
It includes issues from Illustrated London News, Illustrated London Times [forthcoming], Illustration: Journal Universel, Le Monde Illustré, Nouvel Illustré, Le Petit Journal, Univers Illustré, Suisse illustré, Geschichtsfreund, Illustrirte Hausfreund, Illustrirte Zeitung and Ueber Land und Meer.
A Selection of Print Newspapers - John Hay Library
Library has blocks of years from 1899 to 1982. An Italian weekly newspaper which ran from 1899 to 1989. It came out every Sunday free with the Corriere della Sera, but was also sold separately. It was famous for its colorfully illustrated covers.