LibGuides: Modern Culture and Media: Secondary Sources (Journal articles)

Finding Articles in Databases

Databases are specialized collections of citations and full-text links to articles in specific subject areas. Using a database can help you limit your search more easily to a specific subject and will also give you citations to works that we don't have in the Brown Library, which you can then request from Interlibrary Loan by using the Findit! link.

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of MCM, you may want to look at other subject guides for additional databases. Listed here are just a few possible areas of interest.

Also see the Reference Works page for encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Film and Performing Arts Research Resources

Critical Collective
Archive and art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia

Critical Collective is a digital archive and an art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia. The resource covers all time periods from the ancient world to the-present, and includes articles about art history, cinema, photography, and gender studies, as well as museum studies, artists' profiles and interviews, exhibitions, and more.
D.W. Griffith’s Birth of a Nation
Contains 1,991 Manuscripts, 1,992 pages, and 1,991 images relating to the film. The collection does not provide the film in its totality, but includes a shot-by-shot analysis, with annotations.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
1880-2000; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

1880-2000; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
FIAF: International FilmArchive Database
1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation.

1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation. The FIAF Databases include:
* International Index to Film Periodicals
* International Index to Television Periodicals
* List of Periodicals Indexed
* Treasures from the Film Archives
* Bibliography of FIAF Affiliates Publications
* International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections
Hollywood, Moral Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files, 1927-1968.

Internet Movie Database
Publicly available site: Everything you could want to know about a film: cast and crew lists, links to reviews, posters, much more. Includes nearly every film ever made. Warning: not a scholarly site, although links to serious film critics are included.
Lantern
Collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access database of media periodicals in the public domain. Includes film, broadcasting, and recorded sound/music magazines.

MARG Magazine Archive
The MARG Magazine is published till today and appears four times a year. It began in 1946, and is a loose encyclopaedia of the arts of India and related civilizations.
MLA International Bibliography
Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

Motion Picture Scripts Collection
"The New York State Archives preserves the largest collection of film scripts in the world. These scripts can be used to research the history of censorship in New York State and trace the shifting of American attitudes toward sex, religion and morality over the period." Note: indexes are online but not the entire scripts which must be requested.
Movie Review Query Engine
Publicly available resource, beginning in 1993.
MPPDA Digital Archives
"Database of the extant records of the General Correspondence files of the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America, Inc., covering the period from 1922 to 1939." The association was popularly known as the Hays Office.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides access to scholarly and popular material from all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture, 1864-present.

1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
Soviet Cinema Film Periodicals, 1918-1942.
Provides access to 39 Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s

This collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film.
'Through the Camera Lens:' The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
An influential trade journal for the American film industry which began publication on March 9, 1907, and appeared weekly until January 7, 1928, when it became Exhibitors Herald and Moving Picture World.

Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Film
List of useful web resources compiled by librarian Karen Bouchard.

Fashion, Costume & Theater Design

Anonymous French Engraver. A Dance. ca. 1828. Luna Collection.

Godey's Lady's Book: Important 19th century fashion magazine with historical illustrations. To find images, use the Advanced Search screen and limit to illustrations. The various incarnations of this magazine are accessible online through the American Periodicals Series. Note: many of the original print magazines are available in the John Hay Library collections.

Vogue Archive
1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery. For advertisements, the featured company and brand names have been assigned to the document records, and all image captions are captured to a high accuracy. Contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers, stylists and illustrators, are also indexed. You can also limit your search by journal editor.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Provides access to historical issues of one of the fashion industry's most influential publications, 1910-present.

1910-present; the Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.

Harper's Bazaar Archive
Available for searching in the RISD Library: A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing.
Pembroke College Clothing 1900-1970
The Pembroke College Clothing collection includes dresses, tops, skirts, and jumpsuits, likely produced by Pembroke College students for sewing lessons or theatrical productions. The clothing was made approximately between the 1920s through 1970 though these dates are only estimated based on garment style.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Costume, Fashion & Textiles
Selected list of web resources compiled by Brown Librarian Karen Bouchard.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Set / Theater Design
List of web resources collected by Brown librarian Karen Bouchard.

Literature Resources

Comparative Literature Subject Guide

Music Resources

Music Subject Guide
Guide created by Music Librarian Laura Stokes. Includes streaming resources and research databases.

Visual Arts Resources

Visual Art Subject Guide
Subject guide to resources for Visual Art at the Brown University Library.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web
An extensive compilation of art and architecture sites available on the web, maintained by Brown Art and Architecture Library Karen Bouchard. Includes image resources, blogs, museum sites, organizations, and much more.