In this guide, you'll find ways to get started on academic research in music, as well as sources for scores and online audio. There are also tools to help with music theory, both aural and written, and writing guides. Enjoy! ♫
Current; Naxos Music Library is a unique resource of classical music online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Users can access and play the entire catalogue of Naxos recordings, selecting works, for example, by composer, artist, period, year of composition, solo instrument or genre. Playlists can easily be created for educational use and hours of continuous enjoyment. Includes notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. This database has conflicts with Firefox on Mac computers. We recommend you use Safari or Chrome instead.
A collection of jazz music offering more than 230,000 tracks by more than 32,000 artists and 500 labels, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz.
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artists. US-based Fantasy Jazz has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B.
A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content from more than 500 music producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Listening brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products to which the Brown University Library subscribes. Databases include:
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This resource may be cross-searched, along with other music resources, via Music Online.
Stream more than 700 full-length opera performances by the Metropolitan Opera in New York City; also includes interviews with performers and creators as available.
Contains 500+ streaming videos of operas performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. Includes interviews with performers and creators as available. For assistance, try the User Guide. This database has conflicts with Firefox on Mac computers. We recommend you use Safari or Chrome.
Features a large on-demand library of recorded music, opera, and ballet performance videos, as well as broadcasts of live events from performance venues around the world.
Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.
Classical Music in Video is an online collection for the study of classical music in video format. At completion it will contain 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Access high-definition video of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key contributors, and teaching materials, current.
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels, 1975-present.
1975-present; currently DRAM's collection contains more than 3,000 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 26 independent labels. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records. The collection includes folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more.
A selection of digitized recordings from the British Library's collections; includes world music, popular music, classical music, oral histories, sound recording history, and more. NOTE: some recordings are only playable within the EU; check "Only recordings everyone can play" in the search box if you are located elsewhere.
The National Jukebox is a project to digitize a part of the Library of Congress's holdings in early sound recordings. From their website: "the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others."
"A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites."
The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio (and video) files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. These materials stem from Lomax's independent sound archive (his earlier recordings for the Library of Congress are the purview of the American Folklife Center).
"The UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, Grammy Foundation and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free. "
From the About page: "The Global Jukebox is presented as a free, non-commercial, educational place...to explore expressive patterns in...cultural-geographic and diasporic settings and alongside other people’s. By inviting familiarity with many kinds of vocalizing, musicking, moving, and talking, we hope to advance cultural equity and to reconnect people and communities with their creative heritage....The Global Jukebox makes available to the general public, scholars and scientists all of the data and many of the analyses of the research into the expressive arts carried out under the direction of Alan Lomax and the anthropologist Conrad Arensberg from 1960 to 1995 at Columbia University and Hunter College/CUNY."