Public Policy

Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll. The online platform includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. All trends are searchable and exportable.

1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Current, historical coverage varies; provides national and state-level socio-economic statistics about India culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on population, health, higher education, economy, agricultural and industrial production. Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, environment, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, energy and power, transport, urban-rural settlements, telecommunications, tourism, and other areas. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats.
To access, click on the "IP login" tab.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary Data package is a powerful tool to access authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases. It simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMFs data and statistical tools: Balance of Payment Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Financial Statistics databases. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.

Current; OECD Education Statistics consists of two parts. UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) Database on Education covers the outputs of educational institutions, the policy levers that shape educational outputs, the human and financial resources invested in education, structural characteristics of education systems, and the economic and social outcomes of education, learning and training throughout life. The second part is The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) which is an internationally standardised assessment tool that was jointly developed by participating countries and administered to 15-year-olds in schools internationally.PISA assesses how far students near the end of compulsory education have acquired some of the knowledge and skills that are essential for full participation in society. In all cycles, the domains of reading, mathematical and scientific literacy are covered not merely in terms of mastery of the school curriculum, but in terms of important knowledge and skills needed in adult life.

Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

Current available; OECD Social and Welfare Statistics includes a dataset in the area of social expenditure, of which the main social policy areas are as follows: old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labour market programmes, unemployment, housing, and other social policy areas. It also includes income distribution, which covers comparable data on the distribution of household income to provide both a point of reference for judging the performance of any country and an opportunity to assess the role of common drivers as well as drivers that are country-specific. Benefits and Wages series addresses the complicated interactions of tax and benefit systems for different family types and labour market situations, and the Child Well-Being dataset compares 21 policy-focused measures of child well-being in six areas, chosen to cover the major aspects of childrens lives: material well being; housing and environment; education; health and safety; risk behaviours; and quality of school life. Finally, Pensions at a Glance is covering all 34 OECD countries, and is designed to show future entitlements for workers who entered the labour market in 2008 and spend their entire working lives under the same set of rules.

Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Current; Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.Tutorials.

SimplyAnalytics is an online data exploration and mapping tool that incorporates access to many different data sets including data from the US Census. Spatial data can be exported to ESRI Shapefile format. Tabular data can be exported in multiple formats for use with Microsoft Excel or other statistical analysis programs and maps and other visualization outputs can be exported to various graphic formats for including in reports and papers.
For first time users, please register with SimplyAnalytics using your Brown email address and do so while you are connected to the internet via Brown University's network.

Current available; OECD Social and Welfare Statistics includes a dataset in the area of social expenditure, of which the main social policy areas are as follows: old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labour market programmes, unemployment, housing, and other social policy areas. It also includes income distribution, which covers comparable data on the distribution of household income to provide both a point of reference for judging the performance of any country and an opportunity to assess the role of common drivers as well as drivers that are country-specific. Benefits and Wages series addresses the complicated interactions of tax and benefit systems for different family types and labour market situations, and the Child Well-Being dataset compares 21 policy-focused measures of child well-being in six areas, chosen to cover the major aspects of childrens lives: material well being; housing and environment; education; health and safety; risk behaviours; and quality of school life. Finally, Pensions at a Glance is covering all 34 OECD countries, and is designed to show future entitlements for workers who entered the labour market in 2008 and spend their entire working lives under the same set of rules.

Current; OECD Education Statistics consists of two parts. UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) Database on Education covers the outputs of educational institutions, the policy levers that shape educational outputs, the human and financial resources invested in education, structural characteristics of education systems, and the economic and social outcomes of education, learning and training throughout life. The second part is The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) which is an internationally standardised assessment tool that was jointly developed by participating countries and administered to 15-year-olds in schools internationally.PISA assesses how far students near the end of compulsory education have acquired some of the knowledge and skills that are essential for full participation in society. In all cycles, the domains of reading, mathematical and scientific literacy are covered not merely in terms of mastery of the school curriculum, but in terms of important knowledge and skills needed in adult life.

Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.

1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is-presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll. The online platform includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. All trends are searchable and exportable.

1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.