LibGuides: Public Policy: Finding Articles

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Review of Political Science
Annual Reviews publishes yearly review articles on topics of interest in a variety of subject areas. We have access to Annual Review of Political Science as well as others published across the social sciences and beyond.

Databases for Public Policy

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles in political science, including public law, and international relations, 1989-present.
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and reports for U.S. public policy research, 1900-present.
1900-present; Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centres, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos relevant for research in international politics and related fields, 1991-present.
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth reports on a single theme or issue from the news each week, 1923-present
1923-present; explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from the environment, health, education and science, technology and social issues.
CQ (formerly CQ Weekly) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A preeminent resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, 1983-present
1983-present; pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill. Please use the VPN to access this eresource from off-campus.
National Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to editorial coverage on policy and politics, including legislative landscape and complex policy issues.
Current; National Journal's portfolio of time-saving tools and editorial coverage on policy and politics provides critical insight into the legislative landscape and complex policy issues. Content includes
: thousands of fully editable PowerPoint slides and graphics break down major political and policy issues, including legislative forecasts, profiles on members of Congress/ key administration officials, and policy primers. Pre-made slides and decks for student projects, class lectures, and university communications about what's happening in Washington (including on websites, social media platforms, etc.)
National Journal Daily: information on committees, hearings, markups and legislative insider analysis
The Hotline: includes campaign and election information and analysis
The Almanac of American Politics: biographical information for all members of Congress and governors in addition to demographic information by district and state
Congressional and Federal Staff Directory: searchable and exportable directory of all Members of Congress, congressional staff, committee staff, federal agency and administration contacts
The Daybook: calendar of the important events happening on and off Capitol Hill
Data and Charts: high-quality public policy data sets
Policy Webinars--hosted by in-house experts and featuring various key policy areas and discussing what's next for the new administration and Congress

Polling data and public opinion

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Gallup
Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Articles and videos cover news, politics, government, business, economy, behavioral economics, management

Eurobarometer
From the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the EU, this site includes public opinion research on major topics concerning European citizenship.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to polling data from public opinion surveys from 110 countries, 1930s-present.
1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of surveys and original poll questions from the United States and more than 80 other countries, 1986-present.
1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

Elections & Legislative Information

For additional government information, please visit Dan's guides to Federal Government Information and Congressional Information.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records and publications of the U.S. Congress, 1789-present.
1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B
For help getting started, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

The American Presidency Project
A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

Leadership Directories

Leadership Congressional
Current; Leadership Directories' Congressional database includes all Member offices for the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives, including Hill offices, state offices, and district offices, plus staff with legislative responsibilities and emails. It also includes all Congressional Committees and Subcommittees (including Standing, Select, and Joint), Leadership Organizations, and Congressional Support Agencies. In addition, it includes Leadership PAC offices and staff, congressional campaign offices and staff, plus more than 600 of the most popular and influential Congressional Caucuses, Task Forces, Boards, and Staff Associations. It also includes Congressional Officers.

Leadership Federal
Current; Leadership Directories' federal data can connect you to over 120,000 contacts – in Washington and beyond. Using the United States Government Manual as a guide, all 15 federal departments and 90 independent agencies are researched. Provides access to field offices, bureau branches, regional headquarters, national parks, and military installations, as well as over 170 U.S. diplomatic missions to foreign countries, U.S. ambassadors, and staff of federal departments and agencies with offices abroad. Includes information on over 1,200 Federal programs covering over 2,800 program managers and 171 Federal advisory committees covering over 3,000 committee members, as well as interactive Org Charts.

Declassified & security agency documents

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy, 1945-present.
1945-present; The Digital National Security Archive is a joint project between the National Security Archive and ProQuest Information and Learning Company. The DNSA is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 55,000 of the most important, declassified documents (totaling more than 420,000 pages)are included in the database. Many are published now for the first time.
FBIS Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) within the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, 1974-1996.
1974-1996; the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was an office within the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency charged with monitoring, translating, and republishing selected foreign radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, government news agency releases, conference proceedings, political speeches, and non-classified technical reports. The primary target audiences of these translated reports were officials of the U.S. government. Coverage includes political, military, economic, and environmental topics. Now includes the Daily Reports Annexes, 1974-1976.

The Vault (FBI)
The FBI's "electronic reading room" containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copy. Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on the site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous electronic reading room, and new, previously unreleased files. Browse or search by keyword, topic, category or person.

Dissertations & theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A global collection of dissertations and theses, 1637-present.
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Global includes more than 2.5 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 (with a few older) to the-present day together with over one million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Global provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
Dissertations of China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text, abstracts, and/or descriptive information of master's theses, dissertations, and post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions across disciplines, 1986-present
1986-present; this database holds fulltext or abstracts and other descriptive information of Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions. Covers all disciplines.
Brown Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Search or deposit Brown dissertations and theses.
The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]

General Social Science databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and other publications for all major social science disciplines, 1900-present.
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Brown Archival & Manuscript Collections Online (BAMCO) This link opens in a new window
Search the manuscripts and archives of Brown University.
The manuscripts and archives of Brown University are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: American literature (especially poetry and drama), American political and diplomatic history, Rhode Island history, women's studies, history of education, and history of science. The collections are not limited to these areas, however, and new uses and interpretations of the materials are continually being discovered. The BAMCO site does not encompass all of the holdings of the Brown University Library. Interested researchers should consult the Collections A-Z page for further information on our holdings and for contact information. [This resource is publicly available.]
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.

Encycopedia of Social Measurement
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.