LibGuides: Religious Studies (General): Secondary Sources

Notable Academic Journals

Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion (JSSR)
Online | The Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion approaches religion from a variety of disciplines within the social sciences.
Journal of Black Religious Thought
Online | The Journal of Black Religious Thought advances critical scholarship in the fields of Religious Studies – with special attention to Black religious studies
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
Online | The Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion is a channel for the publication of feminist scholarship in religion.
Journal of the American Academy of Religion (JAAR)
Online | The Journal of the American Academy of Religion is generally considered to be the top academic journal in the field of religious studies.
Method and Theory in the Study of Religion
Online | Method & Theory in the Study of Religion publishes articles which explicitly address the problems of methodology and theory in the academic study of religion.
Religion
Online | Religion publishes articles on all religious studies topics, including the history, literature, thought, practice, material culture.
Religious Studies
Online | Religious Studies is an international journal devoted to the problems of the philosophy of religion in the context varied religious traditions.
Zeitschrift für Religions- und Geistesgeschichte
Online | The Zeitschrift für Religions- und Geistesgeschichte publishes articles in English and German broadly related to the study of religion.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Online | Database of multi-disciplinary scholarship

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Online | Database of scholarship on religion

1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Index Islamicus
Online | Database of scholarship on Islam and the Islamic World

1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
JSTOR
Online | Database of multi-disciplinary scholarship

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Online | Collection of ebooks covering the study of religion and philosophy

1975-present; Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers over 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.

YodAlpha
Online | A search engine dedicated to religious, theological, and biblical studies

Finding Secondary Sources in the Library

Browse Bruknow

In addition to searching Bruknow by keywords (the who, what, where, when of your topic), you can browse Bruknow by subject term. In fact, you can pair subject terms with your keywords for more targeted browsing. The following is a small list of subject terms that might be used:

Browse the Stacks

The library collection is organized by Library of Congress Call Numbers. This means that you can browse certain sections of the library to find books on similar topics. The shelves with the following call numbers may be of use for religious studies.

BL1-50: Religion (General)
BL51-65: Philosophy of religion
BL239-265: Religion and science
BL350-385: Classification of religions
BL1100-1295: Hinduism
BL1300-1380: Jainism
BL2390-2490 : African religions
BM1-990: Judaism
BP1-253: Islam
BP300-395: Bahai Faith
BQ1-9800: Buddhism
BR1-1725: Christianity