Zines at Brown University and beyond

The John Hay Library is open to the public. Current hours can be found here. (Building hours differ from hours for the Gildor Family Special Collections Reading Room).

Materials from the John Hay Library do not circulate, and the shelves cannot be browsed, but all collection material can be viewed in the Gildor Family Special Collections Reading Room.

• All Special Collections materials are non-circulating and are available for use in the reading room by appointment only. 
• Appointments are required and must be booked at least 3 days in advance and up to 180 days in advance.
• Seats are limited and appointment bookings are first-come, first served. We cannot guarantee the availability of your preferred appointment dates/times. 
• Researchers may request up to six items per appointment which will be prepared in advance by library staff.
• Appointment requests are not finalized until an appointment confimation email has been received.

REGISTER

• Register online for your special collections research account before your visit. You can use this account to schedule appointments and request materials to be prepared for your visit. 
  • All first time visitors, including Brown community members, need to review the special collections policies and complete the registration forms

FIND MATERIALS

• Identify the materials you wish to view using the following resources:
  • BruKnow
  • Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online (RIAMCO)
  • Collections A to Z
  • Brown University Archives & Manuscripts Research Guide

REQUEST MATERIALS

• Submit your requests for collection materials via BruKnow. You may also submit a request manually using the new reading room request form accessible in your research account.  See the Appointment scheduling instruction videos below for detailed instructions.

For more information, view our guide to visiting special collections.