Skip to main content

Zines at Brown University and in Rhode Island

Finding Zines at Brown

Zine Collections

Brown University currently holds two zine collections and individual zines by title. The first began at the Sarah Doyle Women's Center in 2015, the second was born out of that at the Pembroke Center's Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive in 2017. The John Hay Library has committed to continuing these efforts and as a result, a third zine collection is coming soon. 

 

To search the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection, click here to access the Google-sheet catalog. For questions, call 401-863-2189 or email sdwc@brown.edu.

To search the Malana Krongelb Zine Collection, view the finding aid here. For questions, call 401-863-6268 or email pembroke_archives@brown.edu. 

For information on the John Hay's developing zine collection, contact Heather Cole at 401-863-1512 or heather_cole@brown.edu.

 

Individual Zines

Some of the manuscript collections held at the John Hay Library also contain zines. Currently, the collection with the richest collection of zines is the Kate Bornstein papers

Additional zines within the John Hay's collections can be found by searching "zine" or "zines" in the Josiah catalog

 

Making an Appointment

There are no restrictions on access, except that items can only be seen by prior appointment. Researchers should contact hay@brown.edu to request items in advance of their visit. 

View the policies for using special collections at the John Hay Library.

The Sarah Doyle Zine Collection

In 2015, Brown University student Malana Krongelb '19 began the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection. Areas of strength include zines by and about people of color, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other queer peoples, and disabled people as well as zines about interpersonal violence, sex and relationships, sex work, the prison industrial complex, self-care, art and activism, feminism, and punk. These zines are available through the Sarah Doyle Center.

Click here for a history of the collection.

Click here to search the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection.

Click here to search the sister collection through the Pembroke Center's Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive. 

To use the collection, and if you have questions about the catalog or contributing to the collection, contact the Center at 401-863-2189 or sdwc@brown.edu.

The Malana Krongelb Zine Collection

During the kickoff events for the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection, the Nancy L. Buc '65 Pembroke Center Archivist met Krongelb and the two decided to begin a collection in Krongelb's name for preservation purposes. The Malana Krongelb Zine Collection began in 2017 and is part of the Pembroke Center's Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive. It consists of administrative files and zines that focus on social justice and marginalized identities, dating from 1974 to 2018. Areas of strength include zines by and about people of color, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other queer peoples, disabled people, interpersonal violence, sex and relationships, sex work, the prison industrial complex, self-care, feminism, and punk. These zines are available through the John Hay Library.

Click here for a history of the collection. 

Click here to view the finding aid and search the Malana Krongelb Zine Collection. Zines are alphabetized by subject and an explanation for the subjects chosen is available under the Scope & Contents tab

Click here to search the sister collection through the Sarah Doyle Center for Women and Gender zine catalog.

For more information about the collection, contact the Nancy L. Buc '65 Pembroke Center Archivist at (401) 863-6268 or pembroke_archives@brown.edu. ​​

To use the collection, contact hay@brown.edu to request items in advance of your visit. 

View the policies for using special collections at the John Hay Library.

Zines by and about Brown University Students

Many of the zines in the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection and the Malana Krongelb Zine Collection are by and about Brown University students. The following titles can be accessed through the Malana Krongleb Zine Collection at the John Hay Library.

Brown University 2015-2016 by the (Micro)aggressions at Brown PAR team

Neocolonial Providence: Nonprofits, Brown, and the Company Town

The Pembroke Center Archives at Brown University: Women's History is Here

Providence 101 by Rachel Sohl for the Howard W. Swearer Center for Public Service at Brown University

Silence + Voice: Sexual Assault at Brown by bluestockings magazine

SPACE: A Prison Arts Journal by Space in Prison for the Arts and Creative Expression (SPACE) 

Women's History is Here! The Pembroke Center Archives at Brown University by Anna Steinberg