Skip to main content

Images: Finding and Using

General Resources (A Little Bit of Everything)


William James Bennett. New Orleans. 1841. Luna Collection.

William James Bennett. New Orleans.. Engraving, 1841. Luna Collection.

Brown University Collections Online: Part I

Brown University Collections Online: Part II


Thomas Rowlandson. The Corsican Nurse Soothing the Infants of Spain. Engraving, 1808. Anne S. k. Brown Milltary Collection.


Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship:  Digitized collections from the Brown University Library. Collections may be browsed or searched individually or as a group. All of these collections may also be found in the Brown Digital Repository. Art related projects listed below:

Ancient Art & Archaelogy


   Ara Pacis, south side, Imperial Family. Rome, 13-9 BCE. Photo by Brooke Hammerle. Luna Collection.

Architecture & City Planning


Seaside. 2004. Planners Robert Davis, Andres Duany, and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Non-Western Art & Architecture

Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou, Morocco. Photo by Dietrich Neumann. Luna Collection.




Anonymous French Engraver. A Dance. ca. 1828. Luna Collection.


Godey's Lady's Book: Important 19th century fashion magazine with historical illustrations. To find images, use the Advanced Search screen and limit to illustrations. The various incarnations of this magazine are accessible online through the American Periodicals Series. Note: many of the original print magazines are available in the John Hay Library collections.

Historical Materials: Newspapers, Advertisements, Illustrations, Material Culture

Thomas Talbot Bury. Old Euston Station on the London-Birmingham Railway. Aquatint, 19th century. Luna Collection.

Medieval Art


Charles Collins. Cloisters, Metropolitan Museum of Art. Photo by Brooke Hamnmerle. Luna Collection.

Music Iconography


Stannard & Dixon. The Chobham Camp Polka. Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection.



Anonymous photographer. Czar Alexander III and Family at Fredensborg. late 19th century. Luna Insight Collection.

Special Collections & Exhibitions

Note that the collections below do not necessarily contain all art related material in the Hay. Please consult your librarian or a curator for more information.

Web Resources: Science


Odano Naotake, illustrator. Johann Adam Kulmus, author. Kaitai Shinsho. Blood Circulation in the Human Body. 1774. Luna Collection.