History of Art and Architecture Resources

From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.

The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms.

1850-1950; explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource-presents highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends,

The African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Collection links high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The Collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveller's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

From early topographical sketches and pioneers accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his Wild West stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Librarys extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.

1793-1980; China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library. In addition includes a range of rare printed materials including missionary periodicals, atlases and books which help to contextualize the other sources.

This collection draws upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland. It provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India in which the Scots played a unique and central role as traders, generals, missionaries, Viceroys, Governor-Generals and East India Company officials.

This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters. It is composed of original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Especially strong for the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries this collection will be of particular interest to historians studying:

The British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics.
The relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire.
The relationship between the British Indian Empire and Indian Princely States.
The Mysore and Maratha wars and other conflicts.
The role of the Scots in India.
The Indian Uprising.
Trade and Agriculture.

Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together. Morse was one of the earliest and most important mediators between American and Asian societies. It is fitting that his papers should now enable scholars to explore these links.

Containing 3492 individual works and divided into four categories, the Siku Quanshu represents a massive heritage of Chinese thought and culture. Please note: Siku Quanshu only works with Internet Explorer and Windows XP. Off-campus access is through the VPN client only.

Current; this electronic edition reassembles all of the Tapestry in a continuous scrolling format, and-presents annotations of scholarship precisely keyed to relevant sections of the textile. At the heart of the editions-presentational mode lies a "seamless" reproduction of the Tapestry, which displays approximately seven feet of the work on screen at one time. Users may click on the forward or backward arrows to scroll the Tapestry in the desired direction, and may magnify any given section of the textile up to the level of the actual weave.

London Low Life is a full text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.

Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery. For advertisements, the featured company and brand names have been assigned to the document records, and all image captions are captured to a high accuracy. Contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers, stylists and illustrators, are also indexed. You can also limit your search by journal editor.

1910-present; the Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.

19th century-present; essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.

The African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Collection links high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The Collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveller's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

The core of the collection consists of volumes brought together by Leiden University Orientalists. The publications include 267 Arabic manuscripts (10 th century-1370) amounting to 109,517 pages, in full-color images.

The collection consists of 200 manuscripts. The core of the collection includes an arrangement of a treatise written by Sahib Tag al-Din, two rare Mamluk treatises on horsemanship, and a compilation about men who lived in Medina in the 12 th-18 th Centuries.

From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.

1850-1980's; this resource-presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

1950-1975; Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

1800-1900; this collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist sances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.

Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first-century expos.

The primary source documents collected here in Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters help us to understand existence and consequences on the various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America. The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The material covering North America covers the varied frontier regions from fur trappers in Canada to cowboys in Texas and government in Baja California. It is divided into the frontier regions of the American East, the American Midwest, the American Southwest, California & Mexico, and Canada. It covers the exploration of these regions followed by trade with native peoples, colonial rivalries, expansion of government and new nations and the final settlement and 'closing' of the frontier.

Africa is mainly represented by its frontiers of the south with the British colonial expansion into modern day South Africa. There are also excellent clusters of material relating to the exploration of West Africa and the colonial administration of Lagos.

The beginnings of European Australia and New Zealand are covered by British government documents, starting with Arthur Phillip and the penal colony at Sydney. The frontiers of other parts of Australia are also covered by documents from the UK National Archives and some material from Australian archives.

Finally, there is some material relating to Central America, specifically British Honduras (Belize), in the form of the George Arthur Papers. George Arthurs career here relates to the other regions featured here as he spent time on the Canadian and Australian frontiers.

c1550-1850; a unique collection of primary and secondary sources; artworks; photographs and maps for the study of travel.

From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history.

1490-2007; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering more than five centuries from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world and the Mediterranean with contextual essays by prominent scholars in the field. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continuing existence of slavery today.