LibGuides: History of Art and Architecture Resources: Secondary Sources (Journal articles)

Finding Articles in Databases

Clay cylinder with cuneiform inscription

Cuneiform cylinder: inscription of Nebuchadnezzar II describing the construction of the outer city wall of Babylon. From Babylonian, ca. 604–562 B.C. BCE. Courtesy of Metropolitan Museum of Art. Public domain.

Databases are specialized collections of citations and full-text links to articles in specific subject areas. Using a database can help you limit your search more easily to a specific subject and will also give you citations to works that we don't have in the Brown Library, which you can then request from Interlibrary Loan by using the Findit! link.

For most article searches, you can start with the General Resources box immediately below, and then move on to more specific subject related databases.

A great place to start for general information on artists, movements, sites, and more is the online encyclopedia linked below.

(Please see the Reference Works page for many more encyclopedias and dictionaries.)

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford's art reference works, prehistory to the-present.
Prehistory to the-present; Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of Grove Art and The Dictionary of Art along with several other art resources such as The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

General Resources

Note: see more specific boxes on this page for additional resources.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984.
A comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial arts, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and more.
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text includes other fields, such as women's, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1929-1984.
Cumulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.
1929-1984; cummulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.

OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt combines the Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (RAA), the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA), and the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). This freely available resource reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
Backlist and out-of-print titles in art and architectural history content. This is a Mellon Grant funded project directed by Yale University Press with the goal of making this type of content more broadly available and easily discoverable. Books may be downloaded to any device and are image searchable.
Backlist and out-of-print titles in art and architectural history content. This is a Mellon Grant funded project directed by Yale University Press with the goal of making this type of content more broadly available and easily discoverable.
Art History Research net (AHRnet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AHRnet (formerly Arts: Search) is a fully searchable database of late 19th and early 20th century art periodicals. Actual periodical pages have been scanned and may be read in their original format.
Art History Research net (AHRnet) (formerly Arts: Search) is an invaluable resource for research into the history of modern arts, architecture and design. It consists of five linked databases:

ReVIEW is a digitized, searchable versions of nineteenth and early twentieth-century art journals
Arts + Architecture ProFILES (AAP) is a biographical dictionary of modern artists, designers, architects, craftspeople and photographers
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service
Research Sources which will focus in depth on a series of art and design history topics, the first of which is THE POSTER. It includes a 367-page Bibliographical and Internet Survey of the History of the Poster; an International Directory of Poster Collections; and digitisations of most of the significant books, exhibition catalogues and journals on the Poster published between the 1890s and the 1920s with biographical data on on the artists whose work is discussed or illustrated.
Research Sources: 1. British and Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s.
MuseumsEtc Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; MuseumsEtc shares innovation in museum practice worldwide, drawing on the international experience of hundreds of leading museums and galleries in such key areas as inclusion, interpretation, learning, management, new media, and visitor engagement. Includes over 60 titles in the field of Museum Studies.
Current; MuseumsEtc shares innovation in museum practice worldwide, drawing on the international experience of hundreds of leading museums and galleries in such key areas as inclusion, interpretation, learning, management, new media, and visitor engagement.

The digital platform is specifically designed for use in academic and professional contexts. Museum and gallery professionals, university staff, museum studies departments, and university libraries will find the Collection of 60+ titles delivers unprecedented ease-of-use and knowledge access.

Index to nineteenth century American art periodicals
Set of two print volumes that indexes American art periodicals of the 19th century. Includes material not easily findable elsewhere.

DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers German scholarly journals in art history as well as a number of other fields. Years of coverage vary by journal (see "Open Access" section of site)
DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of back issues of 100+ German scholarly journals. The archive offers browsing capabilities, phrase and keyword searching of titles of articles, chapters, and tables of contents for journals in the fields of art history, economy, education, geology, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, natural sciences, religion and sociology. Years of coverage vary from journal to journal and are listed in the "Open Access" section of the site.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 28 arts and humanities disciplines, 1975-present
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA)
"A free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. It has been managed and published by the Getty since 1983."
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web
An extensive compilation of art and architecture sites available on the web, maintained by Brown Art and Architecture Library Karen Bouchard. Includes image resources, blogs, museum sites, organizations, and much more.

Ali Quli Jabbadar.The King and his Courtiers Persian, 17th century. Luna Collection.

Architecture Resources

Note: see more specific boxes on this page for additional resources.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1930-present (selected coverage back to late 19th century.)
Covers architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! Very useful for tracing the history of a neighborhood and its population.
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.

Archnet
An online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
Buildings at Brown
Subject guide created by University Archives, relating to resources for the architecture of Brown.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-present.
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, including articles on architecture and city planning.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-present.
Covers articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U. S. and Canada. Includes articles on architecture and city planning.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and serials in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields, 1975-present.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, 1969-present
1969-present; Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
SAH Archipedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press.
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. Currently, the content of SAH Archipedia is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from fifteen of the published BUS volumes: Massachusetts (Metropolitan Boston), Rhode Island, Pennsylvania (Eastern and Western), the District of Columbia, Virginia (Tidewater and Piedmont), West Virginia, Michigan, Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, Alaska, Hawaii, Texas and Vermont. This cross-section of the country demonstrates the richness and diversity of architecture and building practice across many centuries, from mud brick to steel, from ancient cliff dwellings to contemporary office towers. The SAH Archipedia will continue to grow as new states are added.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1973-present.
Covers urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas.
1973-present; Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, and the Journal of Urban Affairs.

US Modernist Library
Open digital collection of major US 20th century architecture magazines. Browsable, searchable and downloadable.

Altun Ha: Plaza A, Temple of the Green Tomb. Mayan, c.550-600. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Ancient Art & Archaeology

Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-2014.
An international bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including art and archaeology.
1959-2014; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

Beazley Archive
Online site of the Classical Art Research Centre, Oxford University. Features databases of pottery, gems, sculpture, and antiquaria (photographs). Tools include a Dictionary (proper names of people and places from ancient history and mythology), A Bibliography (including antiquarian texts scanned in their entirety) and an Album of images.
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents.

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early 19th century-present.
Covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institutes Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and serials in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields, 1975-present.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Zenon DAI This link opens in a new window
The combined library catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Athens, Cairo, Istanbul, Madrid, and Rome.
The combined library catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Athens, Cairo, Istanbul, Madrid, and Rome. Default interface is in German, but may be changed to English by clicking on the flag at the upper right. [This resource is publicly available.]

Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Archaeology
Webpage of sites compiled by archaeology librarian Karen Bouchard.

Puerco Pueblo Petroglyphs, Petrified Forest, Arizona. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Medieval and Renaissance Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1949-present.
Covers all fields of religion and includes more than 100,000 full text links.
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Current; this electronic edition reassembles all of the Tapestry in a continuous scrolling format, and presents annotations of scholarship precisely keyed to relevant sections of the textile.
Current; this electronic edition reassembles all of the Tapestry in a continuous scrolling format, and-presents annotations of scholarship precisely keyed to relevant sections of the textile. At the heart of the editions-presentational mode lies a "seamless" reproduction of the Tapestry, which displays approximately seven feet of the work on screen at one time. Users may click on the forward or backward arrows to scroll the Tapestry in the desired direction, and may magnify any given section of the textile up to the level of the actual weave.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-present.
Covers articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U. S. and Canada. Includes articles on architecture and city planning.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Index of Medieval Art (formerly the Index of Christian Art) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ICA is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation.
The Index of Medieval Art is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation. It is based on the analog archive at Princeton University. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and stained glass. The subject matter of each work is classified under one or more of 28,000 subject terms, and a full-text description accompanies each work. The online database-presently contains more than 100,000 images and nearly 50,000 bibliographic records covering iconography, art history, archaeology, religion, and classical studies.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1906-present.
International bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current.
Comprehensive international bibliography of all aspects of medieval studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents.

Sankt Johannes Kirke, Sønderby, Denmark. 1615. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Contemporary Art

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984.
A comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial arts, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and more.
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text includes other fields, such as women's, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1929-1984.
Cumulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.
1929-1984; cummulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.

UbuWeb
Site dedicated to the Avant-Garde, offering free downloads of films, videos and much more.

Global Art & Architecture Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1949-present.
Covers all fields of religion and includes more than 100,000 full text links.
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1971-present.
Contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive and art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia
Critical Collective is a digital archive and an art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia. The resource covers all time periods from the ancient world to the-present, and includes articles about art history, cinema, photography, and gender studies, as well as museum studies, artists' profiles and interviews, exhibitions, and more.
MARG Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MARG Magazine is published till today and appears four times a year. It began in 1946, and is a loose encyclopaedia of the arts of India and related civilizations.
V-IDEO.art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database on Indian art,-presents artist interviews and artwork.
Current; a database on Indian art, V-IDEO-presents the worldviews of artists, critics, and others in the art world. Diverse reflections on art and life create a rich and multifaceted picture of the world. V-IDEO provides seven short videos on every featured artist. Six of them deal with different topics addressed through two or three questions. The second displays twenty artworks of the artist.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1906-present.
International bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.

Archnet
An online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.

For additional resources please also see the following subject guides:

South Asian Studies Guide
Librarian Maan Alsahoui's guide to resources in the study of South Asia.
East Asian Studies Guide
Librarian Li Wang's guide to Middle Eastern resources at Brown and beyond.
Middle East Studies Guide
Librarian Maan Alsahoui's guide to Middle Eastern resources at Brown and beyond.
Africana Studies Guide
Librarian Christopher West's guide to Africana resources at Brown and beyond.

Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou, Morocco. Photo by Dietrich Neumann. Luna Collection.

RISD Resources

Note: Members of the Brown community must go to the Rhode Island School of Design Library in order to access licensed resources. They are not accessible to non-RISD patrons from off campus.

For RISD Image databases, please see the Images tab of this guide.

Art and Architecture Source
Articles on fine, decorative and commercial art, architecture and design including HW Wilson’s Art databases.
Ask Art (subscription version)
Artists biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads, and images relating to artists from early 16th-century to present.
Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
DAII: Design & Applied Arts Index
Articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts journals from 1973 to present.
Dis.art
This streaming platform features artists and thinkers to expand the reach of key conversations through contemporary art, culture, activism, philosophy, and technology.
Electronic Arts Intermix
A growing archive of streaming experimental video, media art and performance documentation from the 1960s to present, featuring work from 60+ artists. EAI is a has been a leading international resource for video and media art since 1971.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Articles related to gardening topics, with special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
Greenfile
Articles on human impact on the environment, covering global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
LibraryStack
Library Stack collects a variety of digital art publications such as artists’ ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, field recordings, typefaces, PDF journals and software.
Material Order
Shared online catalog of the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, Parsons School of Design, and the Rhode Island School of Design. Includes descriptions and images. Publicly available.
Rhizome
A resource on digital media and emerging artistic practices that engage technology.
RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architecture) Online Catalogue
Online catalog of the collections of The British Architectural Library, 1494 to present. Index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library, catalog of the RIBA Library Photographs, Drawings and Manuscripts Collections, and a biographical database of architects.
Rhode Island School of Design Library
You may check out books with a Brown ID and may use their electronic resources when visiting their library.
Textile Technology Complete
Coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing.

Enea Vico. The Academy of Baccio Bandinelli. Engraving, 1561-1562. Luna Collection.

Additional Resources

Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA)
"Collaborative project aimed at capturing and preserving at-risk web-based art materials. CARTA is a collaborative entity of art libraries building collections of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice."

Getty Provenance Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art with references to original primary source material.
Consists of six databases of information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art, gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files. Supplies a wealth of data drawn from British, French, and Netherlandish art sales catalogues of the nineteenth century and documents supplied by major European archives. [This resource is publicly accessible.]

Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web
An extensive compilation of art and architecture sites available on the web, maintained by Brown Art and Architecture Library Karen Bouchard. Includes image resources, blogs, museum sites, organizations, and much more.
Subject Guides
Other databases may be useful to your research, depending upon your topic. Try looking at the subject guides most closely related to your field of research.