A collection of audiovisual interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. The complete archive of these testimonies, which were videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, is now available to Brown students, faculty, and staff.
Between 2000 and 2010, Centropa (a European non-profit based in Vienna and Budapest) interviewed 1,200 Jewish Holocaust survivors living in Central and Eastern Europe, the former Soviet Union and the Balkans, and digitized 22,000 of their photographs. These stories can be found through the Centropa website translated into English (some are in German and/or Hungarian). Academic researchers can request the original language word-for-word transcripts by contacting Centropa through the links provided on the site.
This collection contains originals and photocopies of reports, publications, interviews, obituaries, and photographs pertaining to the careers of Martha and Waitstill Sharp. Documents record the Sharps’ early social work in Meadville, PA, and their humanitarian and rescue work in World War II Prague, Czechoslovakia; Marseille and Pau, France; and Lisbon, Portugal. Materials also document Martha Sharp’s postwar campaign for Congress, activities in Israel, continuing work for the Unitarian Church in Czechoslovakia, family and personal life, and work with the Cogan Foundation and other charitable agencies. The collection includes Martha's unpublished book manuscript Church Mouse and materials related to the posthumous preparation of a documentary film on both Sharps
Mounted by the Conference on Jewish Material Claims against Germany, this site provides online access to the completed catalog prepared by the Claims Conference over the course of the past 50 years, along with links for related resources on looted artworks.
A multifaceted research interface, providing links to online exhibitions, collection information, research papers, USHMM catalogs and blogs, and other historical and contemporary resources on the Holocaust and genocide.
This link opens in a new window
