LibGuides: Judaic Studies (Modern Period): Where to Start

Beginning Your Search

You can use BruKnow to query the Library Catalog and subscription databases at the same time by selecting to search "Everything." Are you new to humanities research? Take a look at our Humanities Research Guide, which will help you through the process of beginning your search to writing the paper.

Abstracts and Indexes

RAMBI: Index of Articles in Jewish Studies
A freely available resource produced by the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem. Search interface available in either Hebrew or English.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays, 1949-present
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

The World Wide Library

Search Worldcat to find books, journals, music scores, videos, DVDs and manuscripts collected and catalogued by libraries around the world. WorldCat Explained is the "About page" for this unique federated library catalog.

SEE ALSO:

ALEPH (Consortium catalogue of academic libraries in Israel; note that proper display requires installation of the MS Internet Explorer Hebrew language pack)

LOUIS (Library catalogue of Brandeis University)

Essential Tools

HebCal Date Converter
Allows the user to convert dates from Hebrew to Gregorian calendars and vice versa. Essential for historians!
Hebrew Numerals (Wikipedia)
Provides a useful description of the Hebrew numbering system and a numeral chart.
Gematria Calculator
An online calculator for finding the value of a word or a phrase in gematria, but it also searches for more phrases and words equals in gematria value to the searched element.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2d Edition, 2007)

Biographical Information

Jewish Virtual Library: Biographies
A freely available resource produced by the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise