LibGuides: Brown Biomedical Innovations: Market & Industry Trends

Sources for Market and Industry Trends

Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook 2019-2020
[will open a PDF] The handbook contains a comprehensive analysis of the $3.2 trillion U.S. healthcare marketplace with the most recent statistics and data available.
CB Insights: Future of Health 2019
CB Insights analysts produce market research intelligence and trend reports - some of which are freely available on their website. In 2019 they produced a series on the "Future of Health."

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Pitchbook
In addition to providing a searchable record of private equity deals, Pitchbook's analysts produce quarterly reports on emerging technology markets and investment. You can explore the data under "Emerging Spaces" or access PDF reports under "Research Center."

Current; private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information, data and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers and investors.
Statista
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.

Getting Started with Industry Research

Industries and companies in the United States and North America are classified using the NAICS or SIC system. Many databases allow you to search for high-level reports or companies using these codes, but newer research systems, like Pitchbook, have emerging and proprietary classification systems that are useful when working in a new technology space.

NAICS Classification

North America Industry Classifcation Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Most of the databases in this guide index companies and industries using the NAICS system.

Analyst Reports

Analyst reports are one way to help you understand how your technology is situated within an industry, market, or vertical without doing your own primary research on the market. We have a number of sources for analyst reports listed here.

Nexis Uni
Use general search terms like "pharmaceutical" AND "market size". Click to the category for "Company and Financial"

1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
IBISWorld
Provides access to industry research reports U.S. and select international markets, current.

Current; IBISWorld provides access to two collections of research reports for business and marketing information. Industry Market Research Reports (typically 30-40 page reports) are available for 700 US industries; reports include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and industry outlook. US Specialized Industry Reports are market research reports for small or new industries. New reports are added every week.

ProQuest Market Research
The Business Market Research Collection contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from these three sources: Hoover's Company Profiles (information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more), OxResearch (succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks), and Snapshots (market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries)

Pitchbook Classification

Pitchbook can be used to locate investors and to search companies and disclosed investments. To effectively use the search it helps to know about the way they use the terms Industry, Vertical, and Keyword throughout the database.

Industries: All companies in Pitchbook are assigned an primary Industry, based on Pitchbook's proprietary classification system. Examples: Healthcare, Information Technology, Energy
Verticals: represent a specific area of focus for investment and may span across multiple Industries and are also based on a proprietary classification system in Pitchbook. Examples: 3D printing, AI, Machine Learning and Augmented Reality
Keywords: Keywords are assigned to companies by Pitchbook based on the content of the company description and proprietary keywords applied by Pitchbook analysts. Think of keywords in Pitchbook like hastags on twitter (except they are not user-generated)

Pitchbook: Emerging Spaces

Emerging spaces in Pitchbook are areas of new growth and investment that have not yet reached the level of a new vertical or industry. When you have a limited amount of time for preparing this section of your proposal, emerging spaces is a great place to start. It allows you to see trends and identify key companies and facts about the market trends - like total investment, average age of companies, news and key deals - all in one place.

There is a facet just for Healthcare, and the information in this area is always changing.

PatentScout: Filing Date

PatentScout makes it easy to see filing trends over time - use the drop down menu to select "filing date" to see a graphical display of applications over time.