LibGuides: ETHN 1200N: Introduction to Asian American History: Home

Welcome!

Resource Guide: ETHN 1200N: Introduction to Asian American History

Professor Shelley Lee (Spring 2024)

Start Here

Explore links and resources along the left panel to identify and access primary sources
See links below for other relevant Resource Guides
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with Leo to discuss your research plans

Resource Spotlight: Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown

Children in the Beneficent Congregational Church Choir. Courtesy of Robert Yang | The Brown Daily Herald

"The Beneficent Congregational Church — one of the oldest churches in Providence — was open to a variety of marginalized groups in the city, most notably early Chinese migrants."

Source: "Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown," The Brown Daily Herald

On Leong Chinese Merchants' Association, 1947

The On Leong Merchants’ Association held its 32nd National Convention Banquet at the Biltmore Hotel in Providence. Delegates attended from all the large cities of the country, including Washington, Baltimore, New York, Boston, Chicago and cities on the Pacific Coast in April 1947.

(Source: "Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown," The Brown Daily Herald)

Moy's high class laundry. Courtesy of Robert Yang | The Brown Daily Herald

"Moy’s family owned “probably one of the largest laundries” in Providence: Moy’s High Class Laundry. The business cleaned customers’ shirts for 18 cents at 34 Broad St. The laundry had resources to wash suits and ties as well as priest collars and habits from church members, who were frequent customers."

(Source: Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown, The Brown Daily Herald)

On Leong Chinese Merchants' Association, 1947

(Source: "Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown," The Brown Daily Herald)

Moy's high class laundry. Courtesy of Robert Yang | The Brown Daily Herald

(Source: Exploring Providence's Historic Chinatown, The Brown Daily Herald)

Related Resource Guides

Ethnic Studies Resource Guide
This guide offers links to books and articles, primary sources, and Special Collections materials related to research in Ethnic Studies.
Research Support
This guide discusses some of the basics of doing college level research, including tips for evaluating sources and a glossary of terms with examples. It also offers tutorials, a library orientation, and much more.
Student Activism at Brown University
This subject guide provides an overview of University Archives and Manuscripts collections related to student activism at Brown University. Topics include civil rights, Vietnam War, CIA recruitment, divestment, harassment and violence, and need-blind admission.
Student Life and Activities at Brown
Materials related to student life and student activities from the Brown University Archives
University Archives and Manuscripts
Information about how to conduct research in University Archives and Manuscripts.
Zines at Brown University and in Rhode Island
Brown University is proud to offer two zine collections as well as individual zines by title. The first is the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection and the second is the Malana Krongelb Zine Collection. Both collections focus on zines by and about people of color, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other queer peoples, and disabled individuals, among other groups. Topics include interpersonal violence, sex and relationships, sex work, the prison industrial complex, self-care, feminism, and punk. We encourage you to use them to unwind, for your research, and as class material.
Community Organizing Archive
Joint project of the University Library and Swearer Center for Public Service. Comprised of archival and manuscript papers of activists (with a focus on Brown alumni) engaged in public service through non-governmental organizations.