LibGuides: Special Collections for Latin America, the Caribbean, Lusophone Africa, Spain and Portugal: Digital Archives

Digital Projects and Reproductions at Brown

Latin American Travelogues
This project provides access to a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th Centuries held at the John Hay Library.
Illustrated Quixote, Brown University Library
Digitized illustrations from editions of El Quijote held at the John Hay Library.

Digital newspaper and journal archives

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-
Online edition of the Archivo Vertical at Casa de las Américas in Havana, Cuba. Offers insight into the culture and literature of Revolutionary Cuba, as well as the Caribbean and Latin America as a whole. Includes 5 subcollections: "Casa y cultura", Writers, Theater, Music, and Politics & History.
Cuban Periodicals: Cultural Magazines Published by Casa de las Americas, 1960-2009
Primary source collection of Casa, Conjunto, Boletin de Musica and Anales del Caribe magazines published by Casa de las Americas in Havana, Cuba, 1960-2009.

1960-2009; this primary source collection gives access to the archives of four cultural magazines published by Casa de las Amricas in Havana, Cuba. It includes the highly influential journal Casa, the theater journal Conjunto, the music journal Boletn de Msica, and, finally, Anales del Caribe, a journal about the rich artistic and literary production in the Caribbean.

For off-campus access, please use the VPN.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922
Provides access to more than 300 Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805-1922

1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Provides access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808-1980.

1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: ABC (Spain) 1903-2010
First published in Madrid in 1903, ABC is the oldest newspaper still operating in Madrid, and one of three newspapers of record in Spain. Politically, ABC is known for supporting the Spanish monarchy and for its conservative political views.

Revolución y cultura, 1967-2009
Electronic edition of the Cuban magazine "Revolución y Cultura," a printed resource for the study of more than half a century of Cuban culture. Some of Cuba's most notable intellectuals have been among the journal's editors and contributors, including several National Award winners, such as Lisandro Otero, Reynaldo González, Graziella Pogolotti, Ambrosio Fornet, Antón Arrufat, Leonardo Acosta, Jaime Sarusky, Leonardo Padura, and Senel Paz. As an illustrated cultural magazine with a wide thematic range, which for decades has attracted the best writers, photographers, designers and illustrators in the country,

Licensed Digital Archives

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
A digital archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
A digital archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture

Arte Pblico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and womens rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over manuscript content, newspaper titles, and books. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: Oliveira Lima Library
A collection of Luso-Brazilian material, mainly from the 19th century. This archive covers a diverse range of topics including colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.

The Oliveira Lima Library is a collection of Luso-Brazillian material with the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century. This collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence.
Colonial America
Provides access to the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, 1606-1822

Colonial America will consist of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Colonial Caribbean
Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK, covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth Through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
This collection of primary resources from Cuba is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between independence and the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958.

1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
Latinx Thought and Culture: the NPR Archive, 1979-1990
Showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts.

They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
Over 400 years of history in the Americas, drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography.