Special Collections for Latin America, the Caribbean, Lusophone Africa, Spain and Portugal

Ediciones Vigia is an independent publishing house located in Matanzas, Cuba. It was founded in 1985 by Rolando Estévez Jordán (1953-2023), who was its chief designer and draftsman, and Alfredo Zaldívar, a Cuban poet. Handmade using collaged, repurposed materials, these books are created by artisans who volunteer at the press. These uniquely produced publications, often featuring dried flowers, shards of glass, fistfuls of sand and other natural materials, are produced in editions of 200. Access the finding aid for this collection through RIAMCO.

This collection of approximately 175 items (pamphlets, books, and serial publications) focuses on Cuba under the regime of Fidel Castro. The pamphlets feature Castro’s speeches, while the books and serial publications document Cuban culture, social and economic conditions, as well as foreign relations policies. The majority of the collection concentrates on the latter half of the twentieth century (1959-1990), though some items address Cuba in the twenty-first century. The collection is comprised of, in large part, translations into English, or otherwise original works in English, published throughout the Anglophone world as well as in various sectors of Cuba’s Foreign Ministry and Cuban political presses.

This collection of approximately 175 items (pamphlets, books, and serial publications) focuses on Cuba under the regime of Fidel Castro. The pamphlets feature Castro’s speeches, while the books and serial publications document Cuban culture, social and economic conditions, as well as foreign relations policies. The majority of the collection concentrates on the latter half of the twentieth century (1959-1990), though some items address Cuba in the twenty-first century. The collection is comprised of, in large part, translations into English, or otherwise original works in English, published throughout the Anglophone world as well as in various sectors of Cuba’s Foreign Ministry and Cuban political presses.