Skip to Main Content

Research Data Management and Sharing

This guide provides current resources available to the Brown University community for management, and, when appropriate, sharing of research data as required by funders and journals. Contact data_management@brown.edu for assistance

Data Sharing Repositories Recommended by Journals and Funders

Depositing, citing and sharing the digital files of experimental protocols, research data, analysis code, and documentation supports the critical interpretation and understanding as well as the replication of methods and repeatability/reproducibility of reported research findings. Be sure to contact your funder's program officer and/or journal's editor to ensure you select the appropriate repository. If your journal/funder does not have a required/recommended repository, then consider using one of the repositories listed below. Please ensure any sharing of data complies with Brown University's Export ControlsRestricted Information,  and Patent & Invention Policies.  Contact Data_Management@brown.edu if you need assistance with preparing and/or depositing data sets in these repositories listed below.                                                                                                                           

Dataverse is indexed in Google Scholar, Google Datasets, and NIH Data Catalog. Dataverse provides datasets with digital object identifiers (DOIs) for citation purposes. Other features includes drag and drop upload and download metrics. Online access to deposits can be limited to only the depositor or open to the public. The per file limit for uploading a data set is 2.5GB. Users can also opt to create their own Dataverses within Harvard Dataverse with storage limit of up to 1TB. The above link will take you to the Dataverse associated with Brown.

OSF integrates with several platforms, including GitHub, ArXiv, Google Drive, DropBox. Features include versioning and download/project views metrics. OSF provides a DOI service for providing deposited data sets with a digital object identifier for citation purposes. The per file limit is 5GB. The above link will take you to the OSF collection associated with Brown.

ICPSR is the main archive and data sharing repository for quantitative (survey and statistical) data in economics, social sciences, and public health fields. ICPSR staff offers curatorial services and support for deposit as well as a secure deposit option for ensuring that data requiring online access limited to only 'qualified researchers' with an approved IRB protocol and data use agreement (DUA), in addition to more secure online/physical enclave services for securely accessing data containing personally identifiable information, archived with participants' consent. 

QDR is a data sharing repository for qualitative (interviews, focus group, ethnographic, and case study) data. QDR staff offers online curatorial consultations and support for deposit as well as a secure deposit options for data archived with participants' consent. QDR provides a DOI service for providing deposited data sets with a digital object identifier for citation purposes. 

Zenodo is a generalist and open repository popular in the physical sciences an engineering communities maintained by CERN and the European Union. Zenodo provides DOIs (digital object identifiers) for deposits. The link abive takes you to the Zenodo community associated with Brown.

Open Repositories

In addition to the repositories above, there are open and generalist repositories that Brown does not have a membership with, but are free for anyone to use and are recommended by journals.

  • GitHub [https://github.com/] is a code-versiong repository for sharing code and software. Obtain a DOI (digital object identfier) for a GitHub repo by depositing code in Zenodo.
  • Commons Open Repository Exchange (CORE) [https://mla.hcommons.org/] provides Modern Language Association's (MLA) Humanities Commons members with a permanent, open access storage facility for their scholarly outputs. 

Find a Repository

Here are some tools and resources for looking for repositories. In addition to these below, be sure to contact your funder program officer/journal editor to ensure the selection of appropriate repositories.                                          

Brown Digital Repository

The BDR is Brown's institutional repository focused on the long-term storage and dissemination of research outputs created by Brown's faculty and student researchers. The BDR provides a DOI service for providing deposited data sets with a digital object identifier for citation purposes. Faculty can self-upload files directly to the BDR; however, students should email bdr@brown.edu to request access to upload. Contact the BDR for assistance at bdr@brown.edu if you need assistance with preparing and/or depositing data sets in the BDR.