Skip to Main Content

Data Management and Sharing

This guide provides current resources available to the Brown University community for management, and, when appropriate, sharing of research data as required by funders and journals. Contact data_management@brown.edu for assistance

Licenses for Sharing Software, Code, Data sets, and Databases

Contact Brown Technology Innovations for questions about licensing and patents, including assigning a license to software and research products developed at and owned by Brown University and/or funded by sponsored research. In addition, if you have any intent to commercialize a research product or the research product has commercial potential, then contact Brown Technology Innovations before publishing/sharing the research product publicly.

License for Software

Brown University Patent and Copyright Policy Section 3.1.5 Patentable Works/Computer Software

"Computer software created by Members of the Brown Community in the course of their University duties or using University funds or funds administered by the University. All creations of computer software must be disclosed to the office of Brown Technology Innovations (“BTI”). University-owned computer software may be distributed by the author to others for academic and research purposes only using the Computer Science Department Copyright Notice (see below). Any other release or distribution of computer software must be coordinated with BTI. BTI will provide appropriate guidance for distribution licenses and will arrange for copyright registration when appropriate. Distribution for internal University purposes need not be coordinated with BTI and is permissible with the approval of the author of the work and the Department Head."

Open Source Initiative [https://opensource.org/licenses

Provides links to several open source and open access licenses and initiatives for code and software, including BSD, MIT, Apache, and GNU GPL. (N.b. these open source licenses may not be appropriate for software for which Brown asserts its ownership/copyright under the University's Patent and Copyright Policy, which prohibits incorporation of Brown-owned research into products owned by commercial entities or such entities profiting off Brown-owned research. Contact BTI for assistance.)

Licenses for Data Sets and Supplementary Materials

Creative Commons  [https://creativecommons.org/licenses/(CC) licenses are used by a growing number of scholarly journals for sharing open access versions of articles and are often used for supplementary materials. CC licenses allow creators to be explicit about their wishes for how they intend for their works to be used, re-distributed, adapted, and under which conditions and by whom. (N.b. these open access licenses may not be appropriate for software for which Brown asserts its ownership/copyright under the University's Patent and Copyright Policy, which prohibits incorporation of Brown-owned research into products owned by commercial entities or such entities profiting off Brown-owned research. Contact BTI for assistance.)

CC0 "No Rights Reserved" Data (numbers/facts) not compiled into any original and creative compilation (e.g., software, figure, database, visualization etc.) are not copyrighted-protected, so consider sharing datasets CC0 to let others know they are free to reuse them. For original and creative compilations of data into a figure, visualization or database that is copyright-protected, consider these licenses below that grant users certain permissions:

CCBY: Users must cite/provide you with attribution and can freely re-use, re-distribute, and create and re-distribute derivative works. 

CCBYSA: Same terms as CCBY above with the exception (SA= "Share-Alike") if they adapt/create derivative of your work and re-distribute/share their derivative, then they must assign the same license terms to their adaptation/derivative work. 

CCBYNC: Same terms as CCBY above with an exception prohibiting use of your work or adaptation/derivative for any commercial purposes (NC = NonCommercial: "not primarily intended for or directed towards commercial advantage or monetary compensation. For purposes of this Public License, the exchange of the Licensed Material for other material subject to Copyright and Similar Rights by digital file-sharing or similar means is NonCommercial provided there is no payment of monetary compensation in connection with the exchange.)

CCBYNCND: Same terms as CCBYNC above with an added exception prohibiting the user from creating and publicly re-distributing/sharing an adaption or derivative of your work beyond what is considered fair use without your permission.

Licenses for Databases

Open Knowledge Foundations Open Data Commons [https://opendatacommons.org/index.htmloffers open access licenses for datasets and databases. (N.b. these open licenses may not be appropriate for software for which Brown asserts its ownership/copyright under the University's Patent and Copyright Policy, which prohibits incorporation of Brown-owned research into products owned by commercial entities or such entities profiting off Brown-owned research. Contact BTI for assistance.)

Attribution License (ODC-By)Requires attribution for re-use, re-distribution, derivative of your data/database. 

Open Database License (ODC-ODbL)Requires attribution for re-use, re-distribution, derivative of your data/database with "Share-Alike" for any adaptation/derivative of your data/database, the user must assign the same terms if they publicly share it.