LibGuides: Gender + Sexuality Studies: Special Collections and Archives at Brown

Selected Special Collections in the John Hay Library

Gender and Sexuality Studies Collections
Special collections in the John Hay Library related to the study of gender and sexuality.
LGBTQ Collections
Special Collections materials in the John Hay Library related to LGBTQ studies.
Women Collections
Special collections in the John Hay Library related to women's studies.

The Brown University Archives

The University Archives are the repository of official records of Brown University, and are located in the John Hay Library.

Brown Archival & Manuscripts Collections Online (BAMCO)
Online interactive finding aids for archival and manuscript collections in the Brown University Library. Some include digital facsimiles of original documents.
Archives at the Pembroke Center
The Pembroke Center maintains the Christine Dunham Farnham Archive and the Feminist Theory Archive in partnership with the Brown University Library. Many other resources are available as well.
Research Guide to the Christine Dunham Farnham Archives
Print resource providing detailed information about women's studies resources in the Archives and in other special collections.

The history of women at Brown can be studied in documents concerning the admission of women in 1891 and the administration of the Women's College, named in 1928 Pembroke College, which merged with Brown in 1971. There are collections of correspondence of women students, scrapbooks kept by women students full of memorabilia of their college lives, and oral histories on cassette tapes of Pembroke alumnae. There are also copies of:

Pembroke Record in the BDR
Digital record of the newspaper published by the Women's College in Brown University from 1922-1970.
The Sepiad
1901-1932. A literary and news periodical written by Pembroke students.
Brun Mael
1901-1970. The women's college yearbook.

Special Collections

John Hay Library Request System
Researchers are required to create an account in order to make requests to view materials in the John Hay Library Special Collections Reading Room or to request digital images. All requests for special collections materials are made through Aeon, Brown University Library Special Collections Request System.
Special Collections A to Z
The Library holds more than 500 named collections which are distinguished by their specialized subject matter, age, uniqueness, or value. Most of the listed collections on this page are located in the John Hay Library. To locate digitized collections, search the Brown Digital Repository. This page also lists collections by subject area.
Brown Digital Repository
The BDR is a service of the Brown University Library that provides a place to gather, index, store, preserve, and make available digital assets produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown.