Provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
Fully downloadable report from the Royal Historical Society with links to reading lists and other sites and a separate download of data from the report.
The archive of the International Gay Information Center, along with other related archives donated to the library. Contains documents, photographs, art, postcards, and much more.
This web archive captures digital content related to LGBTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics.
Web archive that collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world.
From the Providence Public Library: "a community archives initiative to collect and provide access to the current and past stories of LGBTQ+ people in Rhode Island. We are focused on ensuring the preservation of materials chronicling the social, cultural & political history of RI LGBTQ+ people and organizations."
"Amplifying the voices of those fighting against long histories of patriarchal dominance, the South Asian Gender and Sexuality Web Archive documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas." Curated by librarians from the Ivies Plus Libraries Confederation.
Website of the national organization whose mission is "to end suicide among gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning young people." The site also includes educational materials for school curricula.
Web archive of broad range of websites maintained by and for the benefit of LGBTQ+ communities. These sites document news, events, and issues and provide information about seeking assistance.
"The vision for Blackfeminisms.com is to serve first and foremost as an outlet for the cultivation of scholarship that centers on Black women." Includes the Black Feminist Digest, a series that summarizes research about Black women.
Curated by librarians from the Ivy Plus Confederation. "The Archive aims to systematically capture and preserve web content related to the #MeToo movement and women's rights activities in the Greater China Region, so that scholars and students will be able to continuously access these important, and potentially ephemeral, materials."
"Amplifying the voices of those fighting against long histories of patriarchal dominance, the South Asian Gender and Sexuality Web Archive documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas." Curated by librarians from the Ivies Plus Libraries Confederation.
Consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. Collected by the Ivies Plus Libraries Confederation.
This web archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality.
An open access portal of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide.
A website to accompany the RISD Museum exhibition, From Paris to Providence: Fashion, Art, and the Tirocchi Dressmakers' Shop 1915-1947, including scholarly essays and narrative text on fashion and social history, databases of artifacts and information about the clients and workers associated with the shop, and curricular materials for middle-school students.
Powerfully illustrated through the lives of three Mexican/Chicana women - Ramona Medina, Socorro Gomez-Potter, and Yolanda Almaraz-Esquivel - Educating Change documents a history of Mexican women's migration and activism, and considers its relevance for today's U.S. Latino communities, including Providence.
A collection of oral histories of RI women's experiences during WWII, gathered by South Kingstown High School students. Although the website is quite old now, the interviews are still well worth reading.
A long-term research and publication project, focused on new methods of representing scholarly research materials in digital form. The WWP's published collection, Women Writers Online, is an internationally recognized resource for the study of early modern women's writing. Begun at Brown University, the project now resides at Northeastern University.
Transcripts of interviews produced at the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America at Radcliffe. 10 volumes in ebook form.
Provides access to slave narratives collected by the Works Projects Administration between 1936 and 1938, 2000 edition
2000 edition; a study of the WPA slave narratives. A massive historical collection, it includes complete records for each narrative identifying the narrator, his or her year of birth, and the county and state where the narrator was in bondage.
"The Pembroke Center Oral History collection captures the experiences of women, transgender, and gender non-binary members of Pembroke College and Brown University from 1911 to the present."
"Initiated by the Pembroke Center Associates in 1982, these oral histories record the experiences of the women of Brown University and Pembroke College." Includes digitized interviews.
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants.
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. The complete archive of these testimonies, which were videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, is now available to Brown students, faculty, and staff.
A project of the National Extension Homemaker's Council in the 1980s to document the experiences of American housewives nationwide. 5 volumes of text and 168 sound cassettes.
Guide to the microfiche collection. Rock storage. Title of this guide: Connecticut workers and technological change : Connecticut workers and a Half Century of Technological Change, 1930-1980, Project.
This link opens in a new window
