National, regional, and global socio-economic data and time series from the World Bank, current
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Provides socioeconomic data, structured in three geographical divisions Africa/ Asia/ Oceania, the Americas, and Europe, 1750-2010
1750-2010; International Historical Statistics is a compendium of national and international socio-economic data available in both Excel and PDF formats.International Historical Statistics is structured in three geographical divisions and ten data themes: Africa / Asia / Oceania, the Americas, and Europe.
The United Nations search engine for country-level data from many different UN programs. Hit the "More" button above the search box to browse instead of search, and click on countries below the box to view profiles. Free, public resource.
IPUMS IGIS provides summarized, tabular census data for countries and subdivisions, IPUMS International provides census microdata (anonymized individual responses), and IPUMS Public Health provides health survey data for Asia and Africa. From the IPUMS project at University of Minnesota Population Center. Registration is required, but free.
Provides access to more than 250,000 datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. The database hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects. This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.
Provides national and state-level socioeconomic statistics about India, current.
Current, historical coverage varies; provides national and state-level socio-economic statistics about India culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on population, health, higher education, economy, agricultural and industrial production. Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, environment, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, energy and power, transport, urban-rural settlements, telecommunications, tourism, and other areas. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats. To access, click on the "IP login" tab.
The US Census Data research guide provides information about accessing and using several census datasets (decennial census, American Community Survey, population estimates program) and sources (data.census.gov, IPUMS, library databases).
A summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States, 1990-Present.
1990-Present; the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
A data and web mapping application that provides access to thousands of indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education, current.
Current; Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.Tutorials.
A web mapping application for visualizing and accessing historic US census data, 1790-present
Social Explorer helps visual analysis and understanding of the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Primary functions include Demographic Data Analysis, Interactive Map/Report Design and Software Development. The main goal is to visually display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. since 1790 through the-present, for the country over all down to the level of the county. For more recent years, users can display areas as small as a neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. Toward this end, Social Explorer contains a collection of interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried and manipulated on the site.
