LibGuides: Social Sciences Data Resources: Elections & Polls

Polling data

Gallup Analytics
Summary statistics from US and international public opinion surveys. Microdata available upon request.

Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll. The online platform includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. All trends are searchable and exportable.

Gallup Poll Microdata
Brown researchers can submit requests for microdata extracts from several surveys.

Polling the Nations
A compilation of surveys and original poll questions from the United States and more than 80 other countries, 1986-present.

1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provides access to polling data from public opinion surveys from 110 countries, 1930s-present.

1930's-present; the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Also includes access to iPoll.
Roper iPoll
Provides access to polling data from public opinion surveys from 110 countries, 1930s-present.

1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Election data

A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

American National Election Studies

Conducted biennially since 1952, the survey gauges public sentiment on the political process, the role of government, and social and economic issues. This site permits download of the ANES datasets, most of which are also available through ICPSR.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)

A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

Electoral Data Resources: Electronic Data Center

Emory University Library's giant bibliography of web resources on elections data, both current and historic, national and international.

ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
**This data is not remotely accessible using the Off-Campus Access (Proxy) service. You must install the Brown University VPN client.**