LibGuides: Social Sciences Data Resources: Economic & Financial

Financial Data

Fundamentals and Core Economic/Financial Data Sources

The resources below contain large amounts of data. For research on an individual company. industry or country see Business and Entrepreneurship Resources.

Database: Datastream and EIkon
by Cass Wilkinson Saldaña Last Updated Jun 11, 2024 78 views this year
Database: WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
by Cass Wilkinson Saldaña Last Updated Jun 11, 2024 130 views this year

Basic Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of US government statistics covering all aspects of American society, 1878-present.
1990-2016; the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.

Venture Capital/Private Equity

Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private equity and venture capital investment history with in-depth information, data, and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers, and investors, current.

First time users must register for an account.
Current; private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information, data and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers and investors.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
CB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed startup companies, venture capital companies, angel investors and transactions in the United States; current.
PLEASE NOTE: If you are a first time user, you must register for an account using your @brown.edu email address. You need to be on campus or connected to the VPN when you create your account.

Global Data Sources

China Data Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical data, 1952-present
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.
Prowessdx Service / CMIE This link opens in a new window
Key financial data for over 40,000 Indian companies.
Current; detailed financial information with time-series data for 40,000 public and private companies in India.
Economic Outlook / CMIE This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic, financial, political, socio-economic, and business data about the Indian economy
Current; macro-economic forecasts and analysis and real-time analysis of data releases and copious indicator data for the Indian economy.

To use Economic Outlook, please click on LOGIN and then register for your username and password.
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
A source of comparable statistics on the health and health care systems of the OECD economies, includes data found in the publication Health at a Glance, discontinued 8/2023.
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References
OECD Social and Welfare Statistics This link opens in a new window
A source for statistics on public and mandatory and voluntary private social expenditure at the program level, current available.
Current available; OECD Social and Welfare Statistics includes a dataset in the area of social expenditure, of which the main social policy areas are as follows: old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labour market programmes, unemployment, housing, and other social policy areas. It also includes income distribution, which covers comparable data on the distribution of household income to provide both a point of reference for judging the performance of any country and an opportunity to assess the role of common drivers as well as drivers that are country-specific. Benefits and Wages series addresses the complicated interactions of tax and benefit systems for different family types and labour market situations, and the Child Well-Being dataset compares 21 policy-focused measures of child well-being in six areas, chosen to cover the major aspects of childrens lives: material well being; housing and environment; education; health and safety; risk behaviours; and quality of school life. Finally, Pensions at a Glance is covering all 34 OECD countries, and is designed to show future entitlements for workers who entered the labour market in 2008 and spend their entire working lives under the same set of rules.

U.S. Data Sources

IPUMS USA
Public Use Microdata Samples from the decennial census (1850 to present) and the American Community Survey (2000 to present). Anonymous samples of records from these series (full count data is available for series where confidentiality has expired - see history section above).
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The direct source for principal federal economic indicators. Explore additional tools, research resources, and papers from the U.S. Department of Commerce
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Direct source for consumer price index and other government statistics related to inflation, employment, productivity, workplace injury, and labor.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Direct source for data in table format including - 10 year economic projections and historic data.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System - from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. When used in connection with data contained in FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Data), FRASER allows the researcher to create uninterrupted data series by accessing sources previously available only in printed form and those currently available electronically (on FRED and ALFRED).
FRED
Current and historic data. Download, graph, and track 529000 economic time series from 87 sources from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
ALFRED (Archival FRED)
ALFRED allows retrieval of data at specific dates in history.
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Current and historical; NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Provides data sets about macroeconomics, industry, international trade, individual income and expenditure data, etc.
Federal Reserve Board Data
Current and historical data including interest rates, commercial bank, household finance, exchange rates, and other banking data directly from the Federal Reserve bank.
Economic Census - US Censu Bureau
Data from the results of the economic census - conducted every five years. Last survey conducted in 2017 - data will be released on a flow basis from September 2019 through December 2021.

Specialized data resources

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 250,000 datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. The database hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
1989-present: NCCS Data Web, maintained by the National Center for Charitable Statistics, offers a wealth of data about the non-profit sector in the United States. Data include the Business Master File (BMF), which has descriptive data on organizations registered with the IRS; IRS Return Transaction Files (RTF), which contains financial data for organizations that file IRS Forms 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-PF; and IRS Statistics of Income Sample Files (SOI), which has 300 variables for 501(c)(3) organizations.