World War I: Resources from Brown University's Archives and Special Collections

                                                               The Creditors by John Charles Dollman. 1916. Anne S.K. Brown Military Collection.

Books

• America's war for humanity; pictorial history of the world war for liberty by Thomas H. Russell. 1919.

• Army Orders, 1914. 

• Australia at war; a winter record made by Will Dyson on the Somme and at Ypres during the campaigns of 1916 and 1917. 1918. 

• The bond of sacrifice: a biographical record of all British officers who fell in the great war. Reprint. 2 volumes.

Books on the great war: an annotated bibliography of literature issued during the European conflict. 1915.

• British tactical notes. 1917.

• Canada in the great world war; an authentic account of the military history of Canada from the earliest days to the close of the war of the nations. 1917. 6 volumes.

• Deeds that thrill the empire : true stories of the most glorious acts of heroism of the empire's soldiers and sailors during the Great War. 1916.

• European War : Papers relating to German atrocities, and breaches of the rules of war, in Africa..1916.

• Handbook of the Turkish Army. 1915.

• History of the world war by Frank H. Simond. 1917.

• How to be a soldier by Brainless Bates. 1917.

• Notes on uniforms and insignia: French, Belgian, British, German : with plates. 1917.

• Priced vocabulary of clothing and necessaries (including materials) ..1915.

• Regulations for the clothing of the army. 1914. 2 volumes.

• Souvenirs of the great war : (1914-1915) from pictures actually made in the field by an eye-witness, J.F. Bouchor ... official painter to the French armies. 1918.

• True stories of the great war: tales of adventure--heroic deeds--exploits told by the soldiers, officers, nurses, diplomats, eye witnesses, collected ... from official and authoritative sources. 1918. 6 volumes.

• The World's work war manual of the great conflict of 1914. 1914.

Miller Collection of Wit and Humor

• Khaki komedy by Sergeant-Major Edward D. Rose. 1918.

• Navy nonsense : a companion to Khaki Komedy. 1918

• Comic and humorous reciter. 1918.

• Bullets & billets by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1917.

• Raemaekers' cartoon history of the war. 1918-1919.Carry on, sergeant! by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1927.

• From mud to mufti : with old Bill on all fronts by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1919.

Letters

• Letters, 1915, July 12, Alexandria, Egypt.

Newspapers

• The Graphic. 1917.
• The Illustrated London News. 1914-1918.

• The Illustrated war news. 1914. 4 volumes.

• Leipziger Illustrierte Zeitung. 1916-1919
• Li︠e︡topisʹ voĭny. 1914-1918.
• Manchester Guardian History of the War.
• Stars and Stripes: An exact reproduction of the seventy-one issues of 'The Stars and Stripes' the weekly newspaper published in France by and for the American expeditionary forces." View online version.
• The Sphere: an illustrated newspaper for the home. 1914-1918.
• The War Illustrated.

Pictorial Works

• After the last battle: Sixteen French postcards, 1918.
• Album of etching and drypoints of World War I: Contains 97 etchings by W. Schimmelflug.
• American balloon propaganda by the American Expeditionary Force, 1918.
• America in the war by Louis Raemaekers, 1918.
• American soliders, 1918. Watercolor by Victor Huen.

• Armée anglaise. 1915. 55 plates.

• The art portfolio of Allied leaders, by Hans Baluschek, 1915.
• Austria at war: Drawings at the front by Lieut. Will Dyson, 1918.
• Aux Éparges (Avril 1915). Photogravure by J. deSimont, 1915.

• La Bataille de l'Yser, 16-30 octobre 1914. 1917.

• Belgium at War: Illustrated album. 

• Big guns up to the front. 1918. color photogravure.

• British war pictorial. 1916.

• Cartoons of the European War: 45 scrapbook albums arranged by year containing 20,162 contemporary newspaper and magazine cartoons and satires, allegories, sentimental scenes and illustrations from US and European publications, compiled by Julius Franke.

• The creditors by J.C. Dollman. 1916.

• Le Crepuscule sur le champs de bataille, by J. Simont. 1914-1918.

• Dans les lignes anglaises. 1917. 24 mounted plates.

• Épisodes de la Guerre 1914. 1914.
• Faithful unto death. Photogravure by William Hatherell. 1917.

• Fraternité by J. C. Dollman, R.W.S. 1917.

• French Troops 1914-15, by "Snaffles."
• French World War I scenes: Collection of tinted lithographs depicting satirical, allegorical and patriotic scenes relating to WWI, by J. Bac.
• The Great War: A Neutrals Indictment. One hundred cartoons, by Louis Raemaekers.
• The Great War in 1916: A Neutrals Indictment. Sixty cartoons by Louis Raemaekers.
• The Great War: Victory Volume by Louis Raemaekers.
• The Great War: Britain's efforts and ideals shown in a series of lithographic plates.1917.
• "I was there" with the Yanks in France: Sketches made on the Western Front, 1917-1919 by C. LeRoy Balbridge.
• Hail to peace, Christmas 1918: Lithograph by George Bellows.
• ​Herman Fechenback WWI Sketchbook
• Der Krieg, 1915
• Lantern Slides

• The Ladies' Home Journal's Souvenir pictures of the Great War. 1918.

• Men on leave 1918-1919. original lithographs by Sylvia Packard.

• Nurses autograph albums, 1814-1918. Turbull

• Österreich-Ungarn in Waffen. 1916. 200 photomechanical prints.
• La Pompelle Berry-au-après les derniers combats = after the last battle: Sixteen French post cards of ruins from the World War I battlefields of Fort de la Pompelle and Berry-au-Bac. 

• Pen and ink sketches of World War One period scenes. 1914. 

• Portfolio of the European war in rotogravure etchings. 1916. 3 volumes.

• Raemaekers war cartoons : [A numbered series of 140 cigarette cards featuring cartoons by Raemaekers issued by Carreras Ltd.]. 1914.

• Russia and the world : a study of the war and a statement of the world-problems that now confront Russia and Great Britain. 1917.

• Sharpshooter, Watercolor by Julien LeBlant, 1916. 
• Star Kriegsjahr 1914/1915/1916: Album of mounted photographs and 'feldpostkartes' showing German soldiers, campaign scenes, portraits, women, postcard views of French, Belgium and German cities, patriotic and sentimental postcards.
• Types de l'armée américaine en France: Nine plates.

• War drawings. 1918. 

• Wishing you good fortune in 1918. Christmas card.

• With the British army on the western front : twelve signed artist's proofs. 1916.

• World War I battle scene. Ink wash by Zimmer.
• World War I drawings. Twelve charcoal drawings by Lucien Jones. 
• World War One nurse's memory album by Edith E. Lanyon. 1916.

• World War One lithographs. Seven lithographs by Frank Brangwyn. 

• World War One prints by Robida. 1914.

• World War One scenes: original lithographs by Gerald Spencer Pryse.1914.

• World War I 'service series' posters: Four posters promoting loyalty, good work habits, and comraderie among servicemen and veterans​.
• World War Stereographic Library.​

Harris Broadsides, World War I, 1914-1918.

Harris Books

• A book of verse of the great war. 1917.

• America in the making; a one-act patriotic play in ten episodes by Ragna B. Eskil. 1918.
• The Anti-Kaiser poem book by W.A. Cameron, 1918.
• Annual program for the observance of Arbor day in the schools of Rhode Island, 1915, 1917 & 1918

• Canadian poems of the great war. 1918.

• The gold stripe; a tribute to the British Columbia men who have been killed, crippled and wounded in the great war. [Nos. 1-3]. 1918.

• In the day of battle : poems of the great war. 1918.

• In the soldier's service : war experiences of Mary Dexter; England, Belguim, France, 1914-1918. 1918.

• Little journeys towards Paris, 1914-1918; a guide book for confirmed tourists by W. Hohenzollern. 1918.

• National songs of the Allies (United States, Great Britain, France, Italy). 1918.

• Patriotic pieces from the great war. 1918.

• Poems of the great war. 1916.

• Songs of the world war by Edward S. Van Zile. 1918.

• Songs and poems of the great world war. 1915.

• A treasury of war poetry, British and American poems of the World War, 1914-1917. 1917.

• Vagrant fancies by Ellen Howell Le Bleu. 1910-1920.

• War verse of 1918 by "Claudius Lambert." 1918

Hay Books

• Alas! I am a Prussian; the soliloquy of a German in America. 1916.

• Ambassador Morgenthau's story by Henry Morgenthau. 1918.

• American women and the world war by Ida Clyde Clarke. 1918.

• Bollettini di guerra Italiani: A diary of daily events describing an Italian campaign.The diary dates from May 24, 1915 to August 15, 1915.

• The care and treatment of mental diseases and war neuroses ("shell shock") in the British army. 1917.

• Chronology of the Great War: three volumes in one - 1914-1915, 1916-1917, 1918-1919. 1918.

• The cradle of the war, the Near East and Pan-Germanism by H. Charles Woods. 1918.

• The disclosures from Germany: I. The Lichnowsky memorandum. II. The reply of Herr von Jagow. 1918.

• The doctor in war by Woods Hutchinson. 1918.

• Essays and addresses in war time. 1918.

• Essays in war-time : further studies in the task of social hygiene. 1917.

• The European war: Reply to the appeal of German theologians. 1914.

• The eyes of Asia by Rudyard Kipling. 1918.

• Face to face with kaiserism by James W. Gerard. 1918.

• Fighting for peace by Henry Van Dyke. 1917.

• A Frenchwoman's notes on the war by Claire de Pratz. 1916.

• Friends of France; the Field Service of the American Ambulance described by its members. 1916. 

• German, Slav, and Magyar; a study in the origins of the great war by R. W. Seton-Watson. 1916.

• German war practices. 1917-1918.

• Germany's isolation; an expostion of the economic causes of the war by Paul Rohrbach. 1915.

• Government and the war by Spenser Wilkinson. 1918.

• La grande barbarie (fragments) by  Calmann-Lévy.1915.

• The great problems of British statesmanship by J. Ellis Barker. 1917.

• La guerre; documents de la Section photographique de l'armée (Ministère de la guerre). 1916. 2 volumes.

• Inside the German empire in the third year of the war by Herbert Bayard Swope; illustrated with photographs, 1917.

• L'Italie et la guerre actuelle. 1917.

• Nelson's History of the war By John Buchan. 1915-1919. 24 vol.

• Papers from Picardy, by two chaplains. 1918. 

• Patriotic songs : this book contains all of our popular patriotic songs : also British, French and Italian national hymns. 1917.

• Poems, 1914-1916. 1917.

• The present conflict of ideals; a study of the philosophical background of the world war by Ralph Barton Perry. 1918.

• Punch cartoons of the great war. 1915.

• Roumania and the great war by R.W. Seton-Watson. 1915.

• La signification de la guerre by H. Bergson. 1917.

• A student in arms by Donald Hankey. 1917.

• The United States in the world war by John Bach McMaster. 1918.

• War finance primer. 1917.

• The war for the world by Israel Zangwill. 1917.

• The world at war by Georg Brandes. 1917.

• The World War and leadership in a democracy by Richard T. Ely. 1918.

• World war poems by M. Weldon Sowards. 1918.

Hay Broadsides

• All about W.W.S. by the United States Department of the Treasury. 1918.

• ​Caring for American soldiers in England by the American Red Cross War Council. 1917.

• Geachte medeburgers = Chers concitoyens. 1914.

• I stood on guard 'till midnight hour by John Edward Harris. 1917

• A Message calling for war with the Imperial German Government in defense of American Rights by Woodrow Wilson. 1917.

• The Queen of Belgium appealed to the Red Cross to aid in saving the children by the American Red Cross War Council. 1915.

• A song, entitled, Yes, I am German by Augustus H. Harvey. 1917

• United we stand : buy Liberty Bonds. 1917. 

• United we stand : Do your all, your bit isn't enough. 1917.

Hay Posters

Hay Maps

• The Literary Digest liberty map of the Western front of the great World War, showing the battle line of liberty as it stood September 5th, 1918, also showing the lines of farthest advance of the German and the Allied offensives, with complete index. 1918.

• Maps showing entrenchments in France during World War I, 1918.

Books

• Bullets & billets by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1917.

• Carry on, sergeant! by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1927.

• Khaki komedy by Sergeant-Major Edward D. Rose. 1918.

• Navy nonsense : a companion to Khaki Komedy. 1918

• Raemaekers' cartoon history of the war. 1918-1919.

• Comic and humorous reciter. 1918.

• From mud to mufti : with old Bill on all fronts by Bruce Bairnsfather. 1919.