LibGuides: Anthropology: Finding articles

Google Scholar

General databases for Anthropology

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, early 19th century-present
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institutes Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, papers, and books, in the areas of archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology, 1970-present
1970-present; includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers,and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided.
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Bloomsbury Cultural HIstory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital reference tool that covers a wide range of subjects throughout history, providing access to eBooks, reference material and primary source documents from Antiquity, the Medieval Age, Renaissance, Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age.
The Cultural Histories Series offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of food studies content for those studying food, history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, and political science, current
Current; home to a wide-ranging collection of food studies content it reflects the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject, making it an essential resource for those studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.

Specialized databases

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers resources dating from the earliest contact between Native Americans and European settlers up to the civil rights movement of the 20th century. Formerly known as "American Indian Histories and Cultures."
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Librarys extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information for materials pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, 1971-present
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive and art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia
Critical Collective is a digital archive and an art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia. The resource covers all time periods from the ancient world to the-present, and includes articles about art history, cinema, photography, and gender studies, as well as museum studies, artists' profiles and interviews, exhibitions, and more.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, 1906-present.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection looks at the archives of the J. Walter Thompson advertising agency, one of the biggest and oldest in the world. Documents range from the late 19th century to the later 1990s, with the bulk created post 1945. Some of the biggest companies in the world are represented. The Image Gallery includes print advertisements as well as photographs documenting the ad agency.
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, 1973-present.
1973-present; LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

General databases in the Social Sciences

Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and other publications for all major social science disciplines, 1900-present.
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles from English-language periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984.
1907-1984; Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

News

For complete listing of newspaper resources, including historical context, see our Newspapers guide.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 7,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources, current
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.

Public Health

For more complete listings in Public Health and librarian contact info, please see our Public Health subject guide.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC.gov provides health professionals, researchers, and the public with credible, reliable health information on a wide range of topics.
more...less...
CDC.gov provides health professionals, researchers, and the public with credible, reliable health information on:

Data and Statistics
Diseases and Conditions
Emergencies and Disasters
Environmental Health
Healthy Living
Injury, Violence and Safety
Life Stages and Populations
Travelers' Health
Workplace Safety and Health

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly literature on nursing, alternative medicine, consumer health, and other allied health subject areas, 1981-present
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas, 1973-present
Grey Literature Report in Public Health This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive urban health resource produced by The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 and 2016.
2000s-present; the New York Academy of Medicine began collecting grey literature in an effort to better meet the needs of internal research staff. This project developed into the Grey Literature Report in Public Health. Materials are collected in health and science policy, public health, health of vulnerable and special populations (i.e. children, women, uninsured, elderly) and those areas of general medicine and disease in which the Academy has research interests. [This resource is publicly available.]
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.