LibGuides: Anthropology: Resources for Biological Anthropology

News & Ideas

Finding or narrowing a topic? Some places to look for ideas:

ScienceDaily
EurekAlert
The New York Times
Scientific American
Magazine on scientific discovery, technological innovation and policy.
Science News
Browse titles or search content using the green "search in this journal" box in the upper right.

Research Articles

Web Of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of research in the life sciences, 1969-present
1969-present; international coverage of research in the life sciences.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.

Genetic Information

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
Catalogue of human genes and disorders. Entries include a description of the gene or disease, clinical and other features, inheritance, location of gene, history, etc. Many links to PubMed references are included.
NCBI Gene Database
Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include synonyms, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), literature, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links out to many other information sources.

Using the PubMed database to find Gene Information

For many genes, the gene sensor in PubMed will detect when the gene symbol is searched and provide links to records in the Gene database for humans and other organisms where further information about phenotypes, pathways, and other resources can be found. The gene sensor may also return a link to a curated list of articles on the gene's function and to available genetic tests.