Provides access to 2.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences, and history of science
ARTstor is a digital library of close to two million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences, and history of science with a set of tools to view,-present, and manage images.
Provides access to the Brown University Instructional Image Collection and Luna Commons
Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.
Collection looks at the archives of the J. Walter Thompson advertising agency, one of the biggest and oldest in the world. Documents range from the late 19th century to the later 1990s, with the bulk created post 1945. Some of the biggest companies in the world are represented. The Image Gallery includes print advertisements as well as photographs documenting the ad agency.
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms.
A comprehensive resource for visual anthropology, provides access to more than 2,000 hours of film, including raw field footage, crafted ethnographies, and documentaries.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
A video streaming service providing access to independent and documentary films, current.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
Contemporary music from all regions of the world is available to stream and clip.
When completed, Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database. This resource may be cross-searched, along with other music resources, via Music Online.
An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This resource may be cross-searched, along with other music resources, via Music Online.
The James Koetting Ghana Field Recordings collection presents a vibrant mix of traditional and popular music recorded at a broad range of locations and events in Ghana during the 1970s by ethnomusicologist James Koetting. Students and researchers can hear online the complete archive of Koetting's field tapes — 142 audio reel tapes — of musical performances from arts festivals, traditional ceremonies and events, stage concerts, church services, and less formal gatherings and sessions throughout Ghana.
For more information about finding music and resources about music, please see the guide for Music.