LibGuides: Archaeology: Citing & Writing

Citing archaeology papers

The format used for archaeology papers varies. See below for or examples and explanations of some of the possible formats. For Brown Library books that can be checked out or read online, use this subject heading: "Bibliographical citations."

Society for American Archaeology Simplified Guide for Citations
Guide created by the University of British Columbia Library for most common citation forms in archaeology.
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
Easy to use guide for looking up bibliography and footnote formats.
Chicago Manual of Style Online Book
The full, searchable digital version of this resource.
Chicago Manual of style Examples for Every Format in Art History
Created by Duke University Libraries.
Chicago Manual of Style Format from The Owl
A comprehensive resource to the Chicago Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online.

MLA Format from The OWL
A comprehensive resource to the MLA Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
APA Format from The Owl
A comprehensive resource to the APA Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Concise APA Handbook 7th Edition
Condensed ebook version.
Citing Images
Clear examples for MLA, Chicago, APA from Colgate University Visual Resources Library. Includes examples from various sources and different types of artworks plus architecture.
Association of Art Editors Style Guide.
Intended for authors and editors of texts on art.
Crediting a Photo Used Online
Some helpful tips.
Audiovisual Citation Project
British Universities Film & Video Council guidelines for the citation of moving image and sound.

Cuneiform tablet with a bilingual lexical list. From Ebla, Syria, ca. 2350-2250 BCE. Luna Collection.

Citation Managers and More

Brown supports several citation managers, including EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. Please see the page below for descriptions. links, and comparisons of the software.

Citation Management
Information on citation, citation management software, plagiarism, copyright, fair use, and creative commons

Help with Writing Papers

Your librarian can help you with researching your paper, but what about the actual writing process?

For Brown Library books that can be checked out or read online, use this subject heading:

Art Criticism -- Authorship.

Research Support
This guide discusses some of the basics of doing college level research, including tips for evaluating sources and a glossary of terms with examples. It also offers tutorials, a library orientation, and much more.
Developing a Thesis for a Research Paper
This very helpful guide from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center discusses the art of crafting a thesis.
Writing About Art
A guide to writing art history papers, by Marjorie Munsterberg, Ph.D., former Professor at City College of New York and other schools.
Harriet W. Sheridan Center for Teaching and Learning (Writing Center)
Writing Center associates assist students with all stages of the writing process, from finding a topic through drafting, revising, and final editing.
How to Write a Research Enquiry to a Museum
Written by Mark Carnall, curator at the Oxford University Museum of Natural History.

Mu'in Musawir. Bearded Man Reading in a Landscape. Iran,1635. Courtesy of Los Angeles County Museum of Art.