LibGuides: Archaeology: Digital Projects, Open Access &amp; Blogs

Select Digital Projects in Archaeology

A selective and somewhat representative list of the type of work out there that integrates archaeology with digital scholarship, information technology, and visualization tools.

Byzantine Seals Online Catalogue
The Dumbarton Oaks online catalog is an ongoing project to record the 17,000 Byzantine lead seals held by Dumbarton Oaks and publish them online. From this page you can browse or search the collection, learn about sigillography and download tools to help teachers present sigillography to their students.
Center For Advanced Spatial Technologies
Located at the University of Arkansas, focuses on research, education, and outreach related to geoinformatics and geomatics
Online Coins of the Roman Empire
The project will ultimately record every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage, and will provide links to examples in major collections published online. To date OCRE records all types from Augustus to Hadrian (27 BC – AD 138), and links to examples present in the ANS collection.
ORBIS
The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity.
Papyri.info
Search and browse over 50,000 ancient Greek and Latin documents preserved on papyrus and other materials
Pleides
Geographic info on classical places pulled into Google Maps from the Barrington Atlas and other sources.
Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
Joint project of the University of California, Los Angeles, the University of Oxford, and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin.
Trismegistos
Trismegistos is a platform aiming to surmount barriers of language and discipline in the study of texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD).
HPM: Hethitologie Portal Mainz
Research portal for the study of Hittite culture.
ORACC: Open Richly Annotated Cuneiform Corpus
"Oracc is a collaborative effort to develop a complete corpus of cuneiform whose rich annotation and open licensing support the next generation of scholarly research." UPenn site.
Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature
"One of the main aims of the ETCSL project has been to meet the need for a coherently and systematically published, universally available textual corpus. More than 350 poetic compositions, equipped with translations and bibliographies, have been published. As our work on each composition is finished it is published on the website."
Early Nahuatl Library
"The idea behind this virtual library is to create an electronic repository of early Nahuatl-language resources (ca.1540-1825), combining those found in Mesoamerica with those the United States and Europe, digitizing them all and making them more accessible and comprehensible to Nahuatl scholars everywhere."
Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives
The Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives comprise images of Pre-Columbian objects, archaeological sites, architecture, monuments, maps, major codices, and illustrations. The holdings document places and objects from Mesoamerica, the Intermediate Area, and the Andes, and cover around 2,000 years of history.
Theban Mapping Project
Project to map the archaeological resources in Thebes, with emphasis on the Valley of the Kings.

Open Access Resources

Many open access journals and resources for archaeology will be captured in BruKnow and our eresources holdings. However, new journals come to the digital platform all the time including journal backfiles. The following are some sites that track these and other key resources that researches might find of interest.

Anthropology Resources: Mesoamerica, Latin America & the Caribbean: Links to Digital Materials & Images
Compiled by librarians at Yale University.
Archaeological Dialogues
An example of an on open access journal that maintains its own Facebook page.
AWOL: The Ancient World Online
Blog about the ancient world which includes a list of open access journals in Ancient Studies.
Cotsen Institute Digital Repository
The Cotsen Institute of Archaeology Press is the academic publishing division of the Cotsen Institute of Archaeology at UCLA, a premier research organization dedicated to the creation, dissemination, and conservation of archaeological knowledge and heritage.
Dialnet
Index of open access Spanish journals including archaeological ones. Many with full text coverage.
Directory of Open Access Journals
"Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Internet Archaeology
Self-described as "the premier e-journal for archaeology" on the web since 1996.
Turkish Ministry of Culture Publications
PDF versions of various official publications and reports of interest to archaeologists. Most in Turkish but also materials by foreign researchers. Website is in Turkish.

Blogs for Archaeology

Alexandria Archive Institute Blog Series on Using Online Museum Collections
"In this series, we explore user experiences with online museum collections and question what we can do to use museum collections data in more accessible, inclusive, and efficient ways"
Archaeopop
Archaeology meets popular culture
Archaeology Magazine Blog: Beyond Stone & Bone
Blog from the magazine of the Archaeological Institute of America.
Archaeology News Network
Non-profit, online open access, pro-community news website bringing together people in related fields with active interests intersecting archaeology.
Bad Archaeology
But a pretty decent blog
Blogging Archaology -- The Carnival
Formerly called Middle Savagery. Blog by Dr. Colleen Morgan, Lecturer in Digital Archaeology and Heritage in the Department of Archaeology at the University of York.
Bones Don't Lie
Well they do -- that's the pun. For the macabre among you.
Northwest Coast Archaeology
Something for the Canadians amongst you
Publishing Archaeology
Blog containing information and opinions on professional publishing issues in archaeology.
Trowelblazers
Female pioneers and scholars in the field