LibGuides: Archaeology: Reference Works & Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Archaeology at the millennium : a sourcebook / edited by Gary M. Feinman and T. Douglas Price
Print copy.
Keilschriftbibliographie Online
The International Keilschriftbibliographie is an essential tool for the study, research, and teaching of Ancient Near Eastern Studies.
Online Egyptological Bibliography
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature and is updated nearly every day. overage is from 1822 to the present.

Unknown builder. Khami Ruins. Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, ca. 1450-1650. Photo by Amanderson2 via Creative Commons license 2.0.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
This comprehensive, fully illustrated Companion answers the need for an in-depth archaeology reference that provides authoritative coverage of this complex and interdisciplinary field. The work brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into two thematically organized volumes.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Covering the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work in the English language, this up-to-date dictionary is the most wide-ranging and comprehensive of its kind. There is coverage of principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas.
Dictionary of Artifacts
Entries detail classification and typology of artifacts; raw materials; methods and techniques of creation; principles and techniques of examination and identification; and instructions for the care and preservation of specimens.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
From Wiley Online Library. Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
A ground-breaking compendium about the ever-growing field of archaeological history, concentrating on the post-1400 period. Compiled by 120 experts from around the world, with over 370 entries, this is an exhaustive resource.

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents current scholarship on the Islamic world, third edition.
Currently in 3rd edition for some articles. All previous editions are also available through the Brill online link.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology provides authoritative, stimulating entries on a range of subjects, including engaging biographies of the great figures in the field, extensive coverage of the methods used in archaeological research, together with essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford's art reference works, prehistory to the-present.
Prehistory to the-present; Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of Grove Art and The Dictionary of Art along with several other art resources such as The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection.

Handbooks and Histories

Handbooks provide an overview of academic research on a topic. These materials compile information about a topic or technique in an easy to use format. They are excellent places to start your research before delving more deeply into journal articles and other scholarly publications.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-present; Cambridge Histories Online allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Subject areas include: American history, regional history, British history, general history, economic history, history of science, history of warfare, and more.
1960-present; Cambridge Histories Online allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Subject areas include: American history, regional history, British history, general history, economic history, religious studies, literary studies, political and social theory, language and linguistics, music, theatre studies and performing arts, history of the book, philosophy, history of science, and warfare.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2012-2020; Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
2012-2020; Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. OHO is a collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. All Handbooks are available online as well as in print, and monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication.