LibGuides: Archaeology: Secondary Sources (Journal articles)

Finding Articles in Databases

Databases are specialized collections of citations and full-text links to articles in specific subject areas. Using a database can help you limit your search more easily to a specific subject and will also give you citations to works that we don't have in the Brown Library, which you can then request from Interlibrary Loan by using the Findit! link.

Also see the Reference Works page for encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Archaeology Journals

Archaeology journals at Brown
For a reasonably comprehensive list of enjournal holdings in Archaeology, check this list.

General Archaeology Resources

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data.
Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Archaeology
Webpage of sites compiled by archaeology librarian Karen Bouchard.

Montezuma Well. Sinagua culture, Arizona, ca. 1200. Photography by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

General Art and Architecture Resources

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text includes other fields, such as women's, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index, 1929-1984.
1929-1984; cummulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art (RILA) cover European and American visual arts from more than 1,200 journals, 1975-2007.
1975-2007; the Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire international de la littrature de l'art (RILA) on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation, 1930s-present
1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and research related to urban affairs, community development, and urban history, 1927-present.
1973-present; Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, and the Journal of Urban Affairs.

General Historical Resources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays, 1949-present
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

Anthropological Resources

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, papers, and books, in the areas of archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology, 1970-present
1970-present; includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers,and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, early 19th century-present
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institutes Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Classical Resources

For Classical texts and history, please also see:

Classics Subject Guide
Librarian Bill Monroe's guide to Classical resources at Brown and beyond.

Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-2014; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines.
1959-2014; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

FASTI
A database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000 dealing with the Roman world. It offers generally short notices of recent work in the field. It is the new face of the Fasti Archaeologici published by the International Association for Classical Archaeology (AIAC). Coverage is greatest for Italy and Eastern Europe (not including Greece). Also includes a journal.
Propyleum - Digital Repository for Classical Studies
Propylaeum-DOK is a full text open access depository of dissertations and other documents related to antiquity and published by the Heidelberg University Library following the Open Archives Initiative protocol for metadata. Primarily research in German related to the classical Mediterranean

Zenon DAI This link opens in a new window
The combined library catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Athens, Cairo, Istanbul, Madrid, and Rome.
The combined library catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Athens, Cairo, Istanbul, Madrid, and Rome. Default interface is in German, but may be changed to English by clicking on the flag at the upper right. [This resource is publicly available.]

Beazley Archive
Online site of the Classical Art Research Centre, Oxford University. Features databases of pottery, gems, sculpture, and antiquaria (photographs). Tools include a Dictionary (proper names of people and places from ancient history and mythology), A Bibliography (including antiquarian texts scanned in their entirety) and an Album of images.

Ancient Near East & Egypt Resources

ABZU
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Archive of Mesopotamian Archaeological Site Reports (AMAR)
This website publishes a collection of archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf)
ETANA
ETANA is a multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East. Has 3 databases for searching texts and translations.

Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1822-present; includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography(AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Ägypten) is published by the Griffith Institute, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford, in cooperation with the International Association of Egyptologists.
1822-present; includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography(AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altgypten(BA. OEB is now a joint project with Aigyptos, and the number of available items will rise rapidly as Aigyptos records enter the OEB database. The OEB (Oxford Egyptological Bibliography) is published by the Griffith Institute, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford, in cooperation with the International Association of Egyptologists.

Ziggurat dedicated to the god Enlil with Parthian palace on top. Sumerian. Nippur, Iraq. Photograph by David Stanley via Creative Commons license.

Medieval Resources

International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines.
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.

African Resources

African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites
The African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Collection links high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The Collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveller's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600 - present; Africa-Wide Information combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
1600 --present; Africa-Wide Information combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. Included in this aggregation are 40 bibliographic databases from around the world, including Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, the Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, which is compiled from the National Library of Namibia.

African Studies Abstracts Online
ASA Online succeeded the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002). It provided a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASCL library. ASAO no. 60 (2017) was the last issue.
Note: This resource offers citations only, which must then be looked up in BruKnow.

Islamic Resources

See also References Works & Bibliographies Tab on this Guide.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, 1906-present.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.