Skip to main content

PHP0030 Health of Hispaniola

1. Compare and contrast the Dominican Republic and Haiti to identify factors which have resulted in divergent health outcomes; 2. Use this understanding to develop a model of health determinants to apply to other developing countries.

External Digital Projects, Books and Images

Gallica: Contains a large collection of Haitian documents available in the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)Browse the Haitian holdings in dLOC under the country links or view some of the specific projects:
- Haiti: an Island Luminous Digital books, manuscripts and the largest collection of Haitian periodicals on the internet.
- The Haiti Legal Patrimony Project Site
- The Vodou Archive: Among the contributors to the Vodou Archive is the NEH-funded Project: Archive of Haitian Religion and Culture: Collaborative Research and Scholarship on Haiti and the Haitian Diaspora (University of Florida and Duke University).

Hathi Trust Digital Library: A digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. See a list of Haitien resources.

Internet Archive: a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

External Digital Project, Sound Recordings

Association for Cultural Equality - Alan Lomax in Haiti. "When 21-year-old Alan Lomax dragged 155 pounds of luggage and recording equipment into the heat and humanity of Port-au-Prince's dockside, he entered a crucible. In the Christmas season of 1936, Haiti was re-forging a national identity after a 15-year U.S. occupation. The island nation was discovering the roots of its rural culture in Africa, struggling to reconcile the class and race issues arising from a mixed French, Spanish and African heritage, and the cosmopolitan urban culture and folk traditions of the rural poor. Lomax, too, was coming of age in his first solo venture in ethnography, while wrestling with emotional uncertainty, romantic longing, technical challenges, sickness, and financial woes."