History (Great Britain & Ireland)

The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

The Dictionary of Old English Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOEC represents about three million words of Old English and another two million words of Latin.

The Modernist Journals Project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. Its primary mission is to produce digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century and make them freely available to the public on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]

A unique collection of plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.

The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th.

English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection. The collection now offers incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500-1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.

The ESTC, English Short Title Catalog, is an in-process list of books published in all languages in Great Britain, and in English elsewhere, from 1475-1800. [This resource is publicly available.]