In addition to the national centers listed below, all British counties have county record offices. Most county record offices are listed in the Discovery directory maintained by the National Archives UK
A digital collection containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for history of the British Isles, from the medieval period to the present. Created by the University of London's Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
A full text database of the complete proceedings from London's central criminal court. Contains more than 100,000 trials dating from 1674 through 1834. Produced jointly by the University of Sheffield and the University of Hertfordshire.
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. [This resource is publicly available.]
State Papers Online, 1509 -1714, published in four seamless Parts, offers researchers an online resource for understanding two hundred years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. The largest digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. The Library subscribes to all four parts; a searchable archive of 16th and 17th century State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council for research and teaching projects in politics, government, and social, economic, and religious history.
State Papers Online, 1509 -1714, published in four seamless parts, State Papers Online offers researchers an online resource for understanding two hundred years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. SPO offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high-level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators-present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.The largest digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars.
Provides access to the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, 1715-present.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today. This includes bills, House of Commons papers, command papers as well as the 18th Century Collection includes pre-Hansard debates, House of Lords and House of Commons journals, rare private bills, other legislative materials, and reports and papers-presented to both Houses. NOTE: Brown subscribes only to the 19th and 20th century modules of this database.
This link opens in a new window
