LibGuides: History (Great Britain &amp; Ireland): Special Collections

National Libraries

Microfilm Collections

Mass Observation Archive
Brown has Parts 2 through 6 (Reels 7-116). This collection contains a portion of the papers and publications produced by a sociological project to study the people of Britain from 1937-1945 and beyond. A printed guide to the collection is available.

Collections at the John Hay Library

Holdings at the Hay Library in British and Irish history include narratives of travel and exploration, maps, literary periodicals, popular fiction, regimental histories of the British Army, and popular entertainments. There is no single named collection where British and Irish materials can be found; rather, they are scattered throughout the extensive holdings of the Hay Library. Researchers will find the largest cache of research material on Britain and Ireland in the following collections:

Graphic Images

Prints from the Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection
The digital collection contains thousands of original pencil sketches and watercolors along with mezzotints, lithographs, aquatints and other printed forms. Hundreds of artists are represented; there are original drawings by William Hogarth, Sir John Millais, and Sir John Gilbert. There are original caricature and genre drawings by Thomas Rowlandson and Sir John Tenniel.

Related Collections Near Brown

Exhibits

South Sea Bubble (Baker Library, Harvard)
A comprehensive compilation of materials pertaining to the most devastating financial crisis of the 18th Century, from the Kress Collection in the Baker Library at Harvard Business School.

History (Great Britain & Ireland)

Subject Guide