LibGuides: History (Great Britain &amp; Ireland): Where to Start

Abstracts and Indexes

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information on historical writing covering the British Isles, British Empire, and Commonwealth, 55 BC-present
55 BC-present; the Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.

Biographical Information

Dictionary of National Biography
A window on the people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.

The World Wide Library

Search Worldcat to find books, journals, music scores, videos, DVDs and manuscripts collected and catalogued by libraries around the world. WorldCat Explained is the "About page" for this unique federated library catalog.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopedia Britannica, current.
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

History (Great Britain & Ireland)

Connect with a Librarian

Abstracts and Indexes

Biographical Information

The World Wide Library

Encyclopedias