This is the "Home" page of the "Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/religious_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specialist, Curator of Early Books

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Individual Databases for Religious Studies

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Anchor Bible Dictionary 
1997 edition. Anchor Bible Dictionary CD-ROM includes all entries in all six volumes of the Anchor Bible Dictionary as well as photos, drawings and bibliographies, plus the King James and the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. (Available on Computer 2)

Annee Philologique   
1959-2003; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index   
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials   
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

Bible in English   
A collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.

BibleWorks 9 
2011 edition. BibleWorks is an electronic Bible concordance and morphological analysis program. It includes texts of the Hebrew O.T., Greek O.T. and N.T. and a wide range of English and modern foreign language texts. It also has Bible dictionaries and other aids. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster)

DigiZeitschriften   
DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of back issues of 100+ German scholarly journals. The archive offers browsing capabilities, phrase and keyword searching of titles of articles, chapters, and tables of contents for journals in the fields of art history, economy, education, geology, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, natural sciences, religion and sociology. Years of coverage vary from journal to journal and are listed in the "Open Access" section of the site.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online   
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Encyclopaedia of Islam   
Current edition; includes the text and illustrations of Volumes I-XI and the Supplement(Volume XII) to the printed version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam. Also included are addenda & corrigenda, glossary and index of terms, index of proper names, and index of subjects. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library   
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of ebooks that includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gallica 
Developed and maintained by the Biblioth�que nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers over 100,000 digitized texts and 300,000 images. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique, on specific themes such as Proust or utopia, or on a particular format such as periodicals. [This resource is publicly available.]

Index Islamicus   
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT   
The Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT (sometimes called CETADOC) is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. This resource is part ofBrepols Latin Complete and may be cross-searched via the Cross-Database Search Tool.

Oxford Reference   
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included.

Patrologia Latina   
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory matter, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.

Patrologiae Gracae   
Migne's Patrologiae Gracae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Philosopher's Index   
1940-present; abstracts for books and journal articles on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of various disciplines.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text   
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Religion and Philosophy Collection   
1975-present; Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers over 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum   
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Every volume contains the harvest of a single year and covers the entire Greek world. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included. SEG presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

WorldCat   
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip