LibGuides: Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines: University Student Newspapers

University Student Newspapers

Unknown photographer. "Pembroke Record" Staff. 1956. Brown Digital Repository at Brown University Library.

Some selected resources:

Historical U.S. College and High School Student Newspapers Online
List of links to newspapers across the country, sorted by state.
Campus Underground
Iincludes over 75 publications that originated from college and university campuses and surrounding communities. Available through JSTOR.
Collegiate Chronicle
U.S. college newspapers from different regions and time periods digitized by the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections.
JSTOR Newspapers
Includes college and university newspapers from across the country, available through JSTOR public collections.
The Anchor
Rhode Island College newspaper, covering the years 1927-1996.
Brown Daily Herald in the BDR
Digitized issues of the BDH now searchable in the Brown Digital Repository. Contains a majority of issues but not all are fully searchable. The John Hay Library Special Collections Reading Room contains bound volumes of all issues.
Brown Daily Herald: Access World News Collection
2008 - present. Text only, not page images.
Pembroke Record in the BDR
Digital record of the newspaper published by the Women's College in Brown University from 1922-1970.
Columbia Spectator
Historical archive covers 1877-2015.
Cornell Daily Sun
Historical archive covers 1880 to 1986.
Daily Pennsylvanian (UPenn)
Historical archive covers dates 1885 to 2002.
Daily Tar Heel (UNC Chapel Hill)
Full text coverage from 1893 to 1992, freely available online through the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.
The Dartmouth
Historical archive covers 1992 to 2016.
Harvard Crimson
Historical archive covers 1776 to the present.
Princeton Princetonian
1842-2016. Newspapers of Princeton University and the town of Princeton, NJ.
RISD Historical Student Publications
The collection contains the digitized publications put out by RISD students beginning in the early twentieth century. Yearbooks, broadsheets, newspapers, literary and art journals, zines, comics, and magazines are represented in the collection
Stanford Daily
Historical archive covers 1892-2015.
Ujima
Student newspaper of Loyola Marymount University's Black Student Freedom Alliance, begun in 1974.
Vida
Newspapers of the Chicana/o/x community of Loyola Marymount University from the early 1970s until the late 1990s.
Yale Daily
Historical archive covers January 1878-1995
College and University Historical Newspaper Links in Canada
List of links to historical student newspapers across Canada.