Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines

The AAAS Historical Periodicals Collection is divided into five series, by time period and by subject matter.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series1, 1684-1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2. The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2-presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3. The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 3-presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes-presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, womens fashion, family life, and religion.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4. The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 4-presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, womens fashion, family life, and religion.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5. The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 5-presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1912. The themes-presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, womens fashion, family life, and religion.

1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.

1983-present; Readers' Guide Abstracts includes abstracts and indexing of over 450 periodicals. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.

1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to-present.

1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.

Early 18th century --present; this collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.

Arte Pblico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and womens rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over manuscript content, newspaper titles, and books. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture.

1960-2009; this primary source collection gives access to the archives of four cultural magazines published by Casa de las Amricas in Havana, Cuba. It includes the highly influential journal Casa, the theater journal Conjunto, the music journal Boletn de Msica, and, finally, Anales del Caribe, a journal about the rich artistic and literary production in the Caribbean.

For off-campus access, please use the VPN.

1843-2020; since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has-presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. The Economist-presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the worlds political and business leaders than any other magazine.

1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery. For advertisements, the featured company and brand names have been assigned to the document records, and all image captions are captured to a high accuracy. Contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers, stylists and illustrators, are also indexed. You can also limit your search by journal editor.

1910-present; the Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.