LibGuides: Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines: News Photography

Licensed for teaching

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

JSTOR contains an image collection formerly known as Artstor. Included within the larger collection is one for the Magnum Photo Archive. Magnum contains over 140,000 news-related images taken by photojournalists, which may be used for educational purposes only.

For publication purposes, a contact link is included within the metadata of each image.

Additional news photographs may also be found in JSTOR by a keyword search.

Tips for Using JSTOR Images
Document created by librarian Karen Bouchard with tips for finding and working with images in JSTOR Images.

Finding Images for Publication

Picryl: The World's Largest Public Domain Media Search Engine
Free service searches the web for public domain image collections. Donations are requested but not required.
Google Images Advanced Search
Use the advanced search to select size of images and usage rights (Creative Commons).
National Archives Catalog
Images created by U.S. government employees are in the public domain. Be sure to check the copyright notice in case any other entities or people are involved. Carry out a search and them limit to Photographs and Other Graphic Materials.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Not all works in the Library of Congress Collections are in the public domain. Please read the copyright information carefully and obtain permission if necessary.
Umbra
A freely available search hub for digital materials (still and moving images, sound, text) in African American history and culture. Searches materials from a wide variety of cultural institutions across the United States. (NOTE: the Brown University Library is a contributing partner to this project.)
Alamy
Stock photography site covering many subject areas. Images must be licensed for a fee but Alamy is often much less expensive than other commercial options.
Getty Images
Commercial source of photojournalism which requires fees for licensing.
Associated Press Editorial Photos and Videos
Works by Associated Press (AP) photojournalists. Fees must be paid to license the images.
UPI Photo Archive
United Press International works by photojournalists. May be browsed by broad categories or searched. Fees are required to license the material.