Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Compiled by Christopher L. C. E. Whitcombe.

Compiled by Dr. Christopher L. C. E. Whitcombe of Bryn Mawr College.

From the Smithsonian Institution.

'The world's preeminent resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America." From the Smithsonian Institution.

Compiled by Arthur D'Hervilly of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, covering years 1906-1929.

From the Peter A. Juley & Son Collection of Smithsonian American Art Museum Photograph Archives.

Search interface for the collections. Allows works to be compared by color, light, space, and keyword.

Finding aid from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Searchable database of digitized letters from the University of Glasgow.

Fortunato Depero's 1927 work of graphic design and bookmaking.

Digital facsimiles and an online exhibition relating to private art collections in New York at the turn of the 20th century.

Platform that aggregates digitized archival holdings and museum collections from the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Association Marcel Duchamp, and the Centre Georges Pompidou.

"Items include prints, printing blocks, drawings, sketchbooks, photographs, architectural plans, ephemera, and artists' proofs, as well as broadsides, posters and printed reproductions." From UCLA.

Records of the Munich art dealer Galerie Heinemann with focus on the period from 1890 to 1939.

Website accompanying exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Full text of 1840 available on the Internet Archive.

Web companion to the book written by Michelle Facos and published by Routledge.

Specializing in American paintings, drawings, watercolors and prints of the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes artist information.

Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

National Gallery and Google Arts & Culture site uses Google Earth to visit places where Monet painted.

Online access to thousands of Picasso's artworks, photographs, and related memorabilia. Site is in French.

Essays from the Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism in Europe.

Museum site for the American illustrator.

Online catalogue raisonné.

From the Peter A. Juley & Son Collection of the Smithsonian American Art Museum Photograph Archives.

Finding aid from the Archives of American Art. "The collection comprises a comprehensive set of photographs of Inness's artwork compiled by his widow, Julia Goodrich Smith, shortly after his death."

Works dating from 1891 to 1912 from Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Online open-access library of more than 2000 documents related to the Picasso anti-war painting, from the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid.

"Refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture."

"Series of peer-reviewed critical volumes devoted to the field of Romanticism and its theoretical underpinnings. Closer in form to a scholarly book of essays than a critical journal, each volume in Romantic Circles Praxis Series (RCPS) explores a particular subject, figure, or theoretical approach, such as the gothic, contemporary culture, discourses of empire, and many others."

Correspondence written by and regarding the prominent 19th century French artist. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.

Book comprising a collection of posters designed by V. Lebedev for the windows of the Russian Telegraph Agency (ROSTA), the state news agency of Soviet Russia. From Dartmouth Library Collection.

Photo pool on Flickr.

Includes original photographs, caricatures, posters, etchings, lithographs, books, newspapers, manuscripts and realia. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Previously unpublished British artists' materials.

A virtual repository of a substantial cross-section of the Archives of American Art's most significant collections.

"Dedicated to fostering exploration, understanding, and enjoyment of the visual arts of the United States for national and international audiences."

"The Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art."

Search interface to full text past exhibition catalogues.