Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

"Online collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists."

National non-profit organization that champions craft based in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Online open access catalogue with images from the J. Paul Getty Museum.

The bulk of the Collection consists of reproductions of stenciled walls found in American structures dating to the Federal Period, 1790-1840, mostly from Rhode Island. Roger Williams University collection, available through JSTOR.

Two digitized catalogs with illustrations. From Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries.

Digitized books on decoration and ornament from the Mary Ann Beinecke Decorative Art Collection of the Clark Art Institute.

Video demo from the Art Institute of Chicago.

Common Dimensions seeks to expand our understanding of (and connection to) chairs through a collection of interviews with artists, designers, and collectors, an ever-expanding online visual archive, and a growing database of texts that both enlarge upon and complicate the topic.

Collection of glass invertebrates created by renowned 19th century glass artists Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka. From Cornell Library.

Digitized oral history interviews.

Includes videos of different techniques.

Research guide created by librarians at Princeton University.

Emphasis on but not limited to early America. Image resources and digitized books, including botanical and zoological illustration, ceramics, and more. Images may be used freely for educational purposes. For other uses, contact the University of Wisconsin Library.

The Dominy family of East Hampton, Suffolk County, Long Island, New York functioned as craftsmen from ca. 1760 to ca. 1850.

Website of information and resources developed to aid students as they exit school or to help those venturing into the ceramic field.

The collection consists of vases made specifically for American tourists using historical Chinese styles.

Established by Frederick Parker in 1869, the company changed its name to Parker Knoll in the 1930s and became famous for its quality upholstery and tension springing system. The archive includes details of almost every model from the 1870s to 2003, with photographs and related advertising and publicity material. From London Metropolitan University via JSTOR.

Search interface to the museum located in Brockton, Massachusetts.

Information about contemporary furniture design and sustainable manufacturing.

A collection of drawings, sketches, and digital objects pertaining to the design process used by the Gorham Manufacturing Company to create its hand-crafted consumer silver products. From Brown Digital Repository.

The Collection consists of sake cups (sakazuki) from Japan and wooden Burmese figurines. From Ottawa University via JSTOR.

Japanese ceramics from archaeological sites in the American West. From the University of Idaho.

From a commercial site but lots of links to information about the topic.

Search interface to the museum located in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Digitized ceramic tile catalogues with illustrations. From Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries.

Selection of works by Malibu Potteries from 1926 to 1932. From Pepperdine University.

Dictionary of American ceramics, 1946-present. Includes marks usually found on the bottom of ceramic objects.

Digitized books from the collection of Mary Ann Beinecke, now in the Clark Art Institute.

Search interface to the collections. Museum located in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Website for the museum located in Paducah, Kentucky.

Website for the museum located in Lowell, Massachusetts.

Includes biographical information.

Website for the museum in Atlanta, Georgia.

Searchable index to back issues of the magazine (full text of articles not available online).

"The mission of the Society of Arts + Crafts is to support and celebrate craft makers and their creativity. The organization’s vision is to build and sustain a vibrant and diverse community and to shape the future of craft."

Collection held at Ottawa University, available via JSTOR.

"Folk Figures : A Survey of Norwegian and Norwegian-American Artifacts in The Upper Midwest...virtual exhibit of objects ranging from the 17th century through the 1930's that depict animals, humans, birds, fish, or supernatural figures."

"The Longridge Ceramics Collection has been called the finest private collection of British delft and slipware in the world. Over 500 ceramic objects are presented here."

"Searchable digital collection of approximately 540 ceramic works created by Moravian potters in North Carolina in the late 18th and early 19th centuries."

A sampling from The Crafts Study Centre's... internationally acclaimed collections of 20th and 21st century British craft in the fields of calligraphy, ceramics, furniture and wood, and textiles."

This free eBook begins with the Paleolithic Period and continues through the present in the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania.

Images of works in the collection, including all kinds of material culture and crafts. Downloadable. Contact museum for further licensing and rights information.

"This digital collection contains a selection of items from the Hagley Library documenting 19th century American women's participation in household handicrafts."