LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Food & Cookery

Food & Cookery

Cincinnati Menus
Menus dating from the 1930s to today. From Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library.
Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson & Wales Online Collections Database
Objects and images from JWU's extensive collections.
Culinary Institute of America Digital Menu Collection
Over 30,000 menus, mainly from the 1890s-1960s.
Feeding America: The historic American cookbook project
An online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
Historic Menus from Milwaukee Public Library
Menus from the Milwaukee area from the early 20th century to the present.
Los Angeles Public Library Menu Collection
Representation of culinary history of California.
Menus from Boston Hotels 1843-1865
Menus from four Boston hotels. From the Boston Athenaeum.
Schomberg Menu Collection
Menus from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books
Transportation Library Menu Collection
Collection of airline, railroad and cruise ship menus from Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
University of Washington Libraries Menus Collection
"This collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003."
W. Dieter Zander Menu Collection
What's on the menu?
Over 17,500 digitized and searchable menus from the collections of the New York Public Library, ranging from the 18th-21st centuries.

Paul Lacroix. Asparagus, Tomatoes, and a Squash. Oil on canvas, 1865. Public domain. Courtesy of the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.