LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: African Architecture

African Architecture

Africa: Traditional Architecture and Urbanism
Blog: "Open discussion among architectural and urban design professionals of African heritage."
African Architecture and Design
Blog: A Hub for African Architecture, Design and Eco-friendly Development.
American Geographical Society Library Digital Photo Archive: Africa
Digitized photos from several different collections. University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Architect Africa
An aggregated news and information network focused on architecture, construction, and the built environment in Africa.
Archnet
An online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
Artefacts: South African Built Environment
Freely available resource that indexes information about South African architecture. Searchable by architect, towns, buildings, and more.
Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960
Documents African life; European life in Africa in all its manifestations; and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
James J. Lopes Cape Verdean Post Card Collection
Historical postcards from the Rhode Island College Library.
Photographs of Zanzibar
Black and white photographs mounted in album from the Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University.
16th -- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
From the collection of Northwestern University Libraries.
Zamani Project
"By creating metrically accurate digital representations of historical sites, the Zamani Project seeks to increase awareness and knowledge of tangible cultural heritage in Africa and internationally."

Palace Complex at Mount Entoto, Ethiopia. 1883. Photo by Alexander Savin via Creative Commons license.